Parsley Spinach Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Looking at this recipe, it struck me as a Persian-inspired stew (of which I often make). I made it according to other Persian stew recipes: saute an onion with a couple cloves of garlic and chicken - diced! Meanwhile, fry the parsley and spinach (use more of both as they both shrink considerably - I'm talking at least one large bunch parsley and even 16oz spinach). Frying herbs is an integral part of Persian stews - use low heat and it's done when you can smell the herb aroma. Increase the spices: tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1 1/2 tsp tumeric. Mine did not need even the full hour. If you do not want it to be soupy, take the lid off near the end until the juice has evaporated. Preparing it like this made a delicious stew that my Persian husband will not shut up about - AND the baby ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I added ground ginger to the chicken before cooking. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a great stew! I added fresh garlic sautéed with the onion and chicken stock instead of water and it was wonderful! Very flavourful and kids loved it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I found this recipe to be very bland. I even added garlic to it. I served it on basmati rice. I cooked the chicken stew for about an hour and a half. If I make it again, I will spice up the chicken for sure. I found this recipe to be a 2.5 star dish. If you don't like spice then this would be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I am cooking this up as I write this, but I decided to substitute celery root for the potato and chicken broth for the water. I also swapped the olive oil for chicken broth and shredded the chicken breasts. Because I had forgotten to get an onion, but didn't realize it until after starting to make this, I wound up letting the chicken, spinach, parsley, salt, pepper, turmeric, tomato paste, and chicken broth marinate together for more than a day before adding the onion and celery root. I can't wait to see what this tastes like! Though this has at least another 45 minutes of cooking time left, I rated this off of a sample taste. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
awesome! 1 hr was enough. i had boneless skinless breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! While the first go was a bit bland, In looking at some of the other reviews, I've made some changes to make it a tasty one-pot meal! We chopped 3 potatoes, doubled the liquid (one cup water, one cup white wine) bumped up the turmeric to 1 teaspoon, 3 Tablespoons tomato paste, added 2 chopped celery stalks, a few cloves of garlic, a bay leaf, and a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper. We cooked the chicken in the oven while preparing the other ingredients, and then shredded it before adding it to the pot. Perfect comfort food that never fails to disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaileyN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The first sound out of my husbands mouth was Mmmm, so this get a five star from me! I did change the recipe a little bit, I opted to not add my parsley and spinach until I put in the potato - then I just put them on the top and let them steam for 10 minutes, then I stirred them in. I put in the entire little can of tomato past and only added one cup of water so my stew was just that, a stew - not soupy. I traded out the potato for a Jicama, which is a potato substitute (its sweeter and just delicious - even raw). I added a bay leaf and put my lemon juice in near the middle of the cooking time rather then at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My daughter & I both drained our bowls and went back for seconds. Very nice flavor! I think making it as written would be fine, but I needed to make some changes, and here they are. I used chicken thighs. Because I cook for a crowd I used 10 thighs and doubled the other ingredients. I could have tripled the other ingredients for a better ratio. I used chicken broth instead of water to deglaze and added some white wine. I didn't have tumeric so used Cayenne which added a nice subtle kick. Loved it!! UPDATE: Next time I made it I followed the suggestion to not saute the spinach and just add it at the end. This didn't work for us as we didn't like the texture, which was very slimy due to the spinach. I suggest the saute step!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was a great, fast, easy and healthy recipe. I too substituted cayenne for turmeric (because I didn't have any). I used 2 chicken breasts but 1 whole potato and 2 teaspoons of tomato paste. Next time I will use more spinach and parsley since they do wilt a lot during the cooking process, and I may try adding carrots or celery. Lemon juice was to taste and added right before serving. I cooked for the entire two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States