Parsley Spinach Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I liked this! A little less oil maybe... and I took someones idea of adding a little cheyenne to spunk it up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars but I changed it a bit. Added a bay leaf, used left over chicken that had been seasoned with Rosemary, omitted the potato, added celery, carrots, paprika instead of tumeric, a tad more spinach, omitted the lemon because I had already cooked the chicken with lemon and lemon zest earlier, added more tomato paste and then more water and white wine. Cooked for 20 minutes and it came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Great recipe! I was skeptical at first but it turned out great. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Fantastic! After overeating during the holidays, my husband and I were craving something green and good for us. This was it. I even subbed ketchup for tomato paste, cayenne pepper for turmeric, added more salt, some pepper, and sprinkled a little fresh grated parm on top when serving. We loved it! Comfort food at its best - and good for us too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I never follow recipes perfectly, so my judgement reflects some adjustments as well. I used only about half or three quarters as much chicken and more spinach and parsley. I also added garlic for fragrance before frying the spinach and parsley. I chopped the chicken breast into smaller pieces after the first 10-minute boiling period. The lemon (I used the juice of an entire lime instead of measuring) gives the soup a freshness and most of its flavor. If you're worried about blandness, as one review complained, then taste the soup and adjust it for saltiness before adding the lemon juice. Besides the obvious of adding more tomato paste, turmeric, and salt, you can also add chicken bouillon powder at that point. Cut up mushrooms would be a very good addition to this soup too. Calling it a stew is a little misleading. There's very little liquid, and it's more broth-like than stew-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was very good and a healthy dish. I didn't have spinach but used kale. I did use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
awesome! Such healthy comfort and really tasty and healthy!! Very easy and little cleanup. I made changes based on the suggestions of others: -used 2 tsp paprika instead of tumeric -added garlic powder -added a bay leaf -used ketchup instead of tomato paste and added about 3T -added 2 carrots -added 1 extra cup of water Served with brown rice, which went really well. started the rice just as I finsished browning the chicken. I just cooked the stew for however long it took to cook the rice (~40 minutes) and this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was a great recipe. Instead of using chicken breast I cut up 2 chicken quarters into pieces and then took the meet off the bone when it was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I made this for my husband who likes spinach but I loved it too. It also saves washing up as it is effectively meat and two veg in one pan on the stove top. I used economy chicken thighs in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great Recipe! I used less oil than it called for. Also added more spinach. I used this for lunches for a week, and it never got old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States