Parsley Spinach Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was just all right but my boyfriend quite likes it so I'll rate it 4 stars. It is definitely good enough for us to eat it for lunch several days in a row. I am not sure how this turned out soupy for other reviewers as mine actually needed extra water and still came out fairly thick and stewy. The secret may be in the cooking time, I did let mine simmer for over an hour as the recipe suggests. I had to use bone-in tights as that was the only thing left in the shop but I think that actually added to the flavour. Picked the bones out once the meat was soft. I added some extra tomato puree and lots of garlic powder to compliment the spinach, and I think the lemon is a key ingredient - add plenty. Very nice on rice and loved it on mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Fantastic! After overeating during the holidays, my husband and I were craving something green and good for us. This was it. I even subbed ketchup for tomato paste, cayenne pepper for turmeric, added more salt, some pepper, and sprinkled a little fresh grated parm on top when serving. We loved it! Comfort food at its best - and good for us too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicious and forgiving. I didn’t sauté the spinach and parsley to reduce the fat in this recipe, instead I added it right at the end so it would be bright green when I served it. To serve, I put it in soup bowls garnished with fresh parsley and parmesan cheese with sour dough rolls. This was delicious and I ate way too much of it. Absolutely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
awesome! Such healthy comfort and really tasty and healthy!! Very easy and little cleanup. I made changes based on the suggestions of others: -used 2 tsp paprika instead of tumeric -added garlic powder -added a bay leaf -used ketchup instead of tomato paste and added about 3T -added 2 carrots -added 1 extra cup of water Served with brown rice, which went really well. started the rice just as I finsished browning the chicken. I just cooked the stew for however long it took to cook the rice (~40 minutes) and this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars but I changed it a bit. Added a bay leaf, used left over chicken that had been seasoned with Rosemary, omitted the potato, added celery, carrots, paprika instead of tumeric, a tad more spinach, omitted the lemon because I had already cooked the chicken with lemon and lemon zest earlier, added more tomato paste and then more water and white wine. Cooked for 20 minutes and it came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I liked this! A little less oil maybe... and I took someones idea of adding a little cheyenne to spunk it up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
This recipe tasted fine but it was bland. I may make it again because it is healthy but not because it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I never follow recipes perfectly, so my judgement reflects some adjustments as well. I used only about half or three quarters as much chicken and more spinach and parsley. I also added garlic for fragrance before frying the spinach and parsley. I chopped the chicken breast into smaller pieces after the first 10-minute boiling period. The lemon (I used the juice of an entire lime instead of measuring) gives the soup a freshness and most of its flavor. If you're worried about blandness, as one review complained, then taste the soup and adjust it for saltiness before adding the lemon juice. Besides the obvious of adding more tomato paste, turmeric, and salt, you can also add chicken bouillon powder at that point. Cut up mushrooms would be a very good addition to this soup too. Calling it a stew is a little misleading. There's very little liquid, and it's more broth-like than stew-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Good basic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I was so surprised that this simple combination of ingredients could yield something so delicious! I made this for a week's worth of lunches, and enjoyed it everyday. To make it a little easier I used rotisserie chicken, and like others I skipped the step of frying the parsley and spinach. Also, I don't love potatoes in soup so I skipped that. I will DEFINITELY make this again! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States