Parsley Spinach Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
This recipe tasted fine but it was bland. I may make it again because it is healthy but not because it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Fantastic! After overeating during the holidays, my husband and I were craving something green and good for us. This was it. I even subbed ketchup for tomato paste, cayenne pepper for turmeric, added more salt, some pepper, and sprinkled a little fresh grated parm on top when serving. We loved it! Comfort food at its best - and good for us too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Good basic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I never follow recipes perfectly, so my judgement reflects some adjustments as well. I used only about half or three quarters as much chicken and more spinach and parsley. I also added garlic for fragrance before frying the spinach and parsley. I chopped the chicken breast into smaller pieces after the first 10-minute boiling period. The lemon (I used the juice of an entire lime instead of measuring) gives the soup a freshness and most of its flavor. If you're worried about blandness, as one review complained, then taste the soup and adjust it for saltiness before adding the lemon juice. Besides the obvious of adding more tomato paste, turmeric, and salt, you can also add chicken bouillon powder at that point. Cut up mushrooms would be a very good addition to this soup too. Calling it a stew is a little misleading. There's very little liquid, and it's more broth-like than stew-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I liked this! A little less oil maybe... and I took someones idea of adding a little cheyenne to spunk it up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was just all right but my boyfriend quite likes it so I'll rate it 4 stars. It is definitely good enough for us to eat it for lunch several days in a row. I am not sure how this turned out soupy for other reviewers as mine actually needed extra water and still came out fairly thick and stewy. The secret may be in the cooking time, I did let mine simmer for over an hour as the recipe suggests. I had to use bone-in tights as that was the only thing left in the shop but I think that actually added to the flavour. Picked the bones out once the meat was soft. I added some extra tomato puree and lots of garlic powder to compliment the spinach, and I think the lemon is a key ingredient - add plenty. Very nice on rice and loved it on mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was very good and a healthy dish. I didn't have spinach but used kale. I did use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was very tasty, but I added a few things. I added one chicken boullion cube, cayenne, cumin, and some extra garlic. I also added some coconut milk to the basmati rice that I served with it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not sure that I'd call this a stew, but probably wouldn't label it soup either. It was just a tasty meal. I ate it with garlic bread to soak up the flavorful juices. The combination of parsley, turmeric, and lemon made for a good blend. Instead of water and tomato paste, I used a chopped fresh tomato and a small can of tomato juice. A small grated yellow squash helped to thicken up the broth a bit. Just added the spinach and parsley to the skillet after the onion was sauteed and the chicken was browned. And - I precooked the potato so it wouldn't have to simmer quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars but I changed it a bit. Added a bay leaf, used left over chicken that had been seasoned with Rosemary, omitted the potato, added celery, carrots, paprika instead of tumeric, a tad more spinach, omitted the lemon because I had already cooked the chicken with lemon and lemon zest earlier, added more tomato paste and then more water and white wine. Cooked for 20 minutes and it came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States