Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I posted the original recipe and recently substitued canned (drained) mandarin oranges for the mangoes, which can be messy to prepare. I loved it! Any type of greens would work well--spinach, Romaine, mixed baby greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
A friend of mine brought this to a party last night, and it didn't last long. The entire group loved it, and she told us to come here and get the recipe. I bet I'm not the only one who did. The salad had so many unusual combinations that worked beautifully together! I did not put dressing on my first helping and it was delicious without it. I did put poppyseed dressing on my second helping, and wow. I am not a salad fan, but this one won me over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We really enjoyed this salad. Only things we would change are using grapes instead of raisins and we didn't care for the red onion in the recipe and would leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to admit that I was skeptical about this recipe--I don't like fruit/meat/salad combinations! But it is GREAT! The sweet creamy poppy seed dressing makes this dish amazing--even if you're not really into that sort of thing. I often use baby spinach and packaged bacon pieces. It's a favorite--even if you're NOT a parrothead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Even my husband who doesn't normally think fruit belongs in a salad loved this! I served it with grilled chicken which he sliced and put on top of his salad and he went bck for more. We used the poppy seed mustard salad dressing from this site and it was delicious. It has gone into my "recipes to make often" list. Great for hot summer days when you just don't want a lot of cooking and heating or a heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This salad was a huge hit with my family. We didn't even need to use the poppy seed dressing, as the juices from the fruit made a delicious dressing itself! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarabelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Blueberries and bacon? Strawberries and tomatoes? I was a little hesitant to combine these odd pairs in a salad....but I was pleasantly in awe! This is my new favorite salad. I served it to my closest (most honest) friends and they raved about it. I added spinach to the romaine to add a little color and served with poppy seed dressing. It would be a great summer meal if you add meat or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Who Knew this combo of items would meld so well. It dosen't get anybetter to me.I even ate the tomatos that I usely turn my noise up at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Up there as one of my favourite salads.. a great way to get your fruits and veggies. I used a lite poppyseed salad dressing and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
SOOOO good! I brought this to a tennis match and there was none leftover. Dressing isn't needed as the fruit juices are more than sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States