Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Yum Yum Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to admit that I was skeptical about this recipe--I don't like fruit/meat/salad combinations! But it is GREAT! The sweet creamy poppy seed dressing makes this dish amazing--even if you're not really into that sort of thing. I often use baby spinach and packaged bacon pieces. It's a favorite--even if you're NOT a parrothead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Oh, so good! Don't be a skeptic - try it! It is delicious - one of those things you will crave! She's right a little Buffet music is a good "side dish" (even if your not a raving fan!) Keep cooking Jeannie - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Blueberries and bacon? Strawberries and tomatoes? I was a little hesitant to combine these odd pairs in a salad....but I was pleasantly in awe! This is my new favorite salad. I served it to my closest (most honest) friends and they raved about it. I added spinach to the romaine to add a little color and served with poppy seed dressing. It would be a great summer meal if you add meat or grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was full of flavor. With the juicy mango you don't need salad dressing! It was a hit at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
WOW - this was D'LISH!! Got rave reviews at the party last night, what an awesome combination and such a pretty, colorful Summer salad! Our Mangos weren't quite ripe enough so I added some Poppyseed Dressing to the salad and it was PERFECT!! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I was attracted to this salad because of it's name – gotta love it!! Well, I’ll start by saying that this is quite the busy salad!! There’s lots of stuff going on here!! I made this as written, with the exception of subbing cantaloupe for the mango. Even though I had pretty sweet cherry tomatoes from the garden, I didn’t think they belonged in this, and would leave them out next time. I doubt they’d be missed. We liked this, but all that fruit really weights down the tender leaf lettuce. I’d suggest a sturdier lettuce, such as Romaine. And I wouldn’t toss this salad with dressing as all your fruit would go straight to the bottom of the bowl due to it’s weight. Instead do what I did and “arrange” the salad on the plate and then drizzle with dressing, if using. Although none was specified, I used some leftover poppy seed dressing, which complimented this well. This was tasty and we enjoyed it, but I don’t think all five fruits are necessary. You could have an equally delicious salad using 2-3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Also was skeptical...was great, especially on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I posted the original recipe and recently substitued canned (drained) mandarin oranges for the mangoes, which can be messy to prepare. I loved it! Any type of greens would work well--spinach, Romaine, mixed baby greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Served this salad to my picky-eating family, then at a pitch-in lunch. My family loved it and people at the pitch-in were extremely happy with it. I brought home only a little. I added sunflower seeds to the mix, and you don't need the poppyseed dressing if you'll refrigerate chopped fruits together and add the lettuce and onion late. Or, I refrigerated the fruit with the onion overnight, and got a different flavor that was still very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugtami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States