Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Ok, yum!! I am not normally much of a salad person at all but this was amazing! I hate to say I did change a couple things, but it wasn't on purpose. I love mangoes & was SOO looking forward to having them in this salad, but the store didn't have any when I went. :-( So I used mandarin oranges instead. We also ended up adding grilled chicken to ours because we like more protein, but I did try it without the chicken & without any dressing & it was yummy. But thank you to all who suggested the poppyseed dressing (I'd never has it before)- it really made this even better! Great salad, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This salad has been a favorite at ever party I have served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Best salad ever! We loved the juiciness of the fruit with the salty flavors from the bacon. This is definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We enjoyed this salad. We eat a lot of salads with lettuce and fruit (fresh and/or dried) and nuts. What was different about this one, for us, was using the tomatoes and fruit in the same salad. Usually I use either fruit OR some combo of tomatoes and veggies (cukes; peppers; ETC). I actually didn't notice the tomatoes, with all of the other flavors goin' on. I used grape tomatoes (halved), blackberries instead of blueberries, and mandarins instead of mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Bacon makes everything good! Everyone likes this salad when I make it. Usually use craisins though instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I took this to a football party yesterday, devoured with many compliments! I was disappointed my store was out of mango, so I prepared with mandarin oranges as suggested by previous reviewers, and they worked beautifully (and easily!). I also subbed dried cherries for the raisins. I used "honey-balsamic" dressing, it was delicious on this. Thanks for sharing, this is a crowd pleaser and a keeper! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/honey-balsamic-vinaigrette/detail.aspx?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I absolutely love this salad. I used mandarin oranges instead of mango and used poppy seed dressing. This makes a very visually appealing salad and tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
excellent salad!!!! i've made a few times already! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I simply love this salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States