Parrothead Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Ok, yum!! I am not normally much of a salad person at all but this was amazing! I hate to say I did change a couple things, but it wasn't on purpose. I love mangoes & was SOO looking forward to having them in this salad, but the store didn't have any when I went. :-( So I used mandarin oranges instead. We also ended up adding grilled chicken to ours because we like more protein, but I did try it without the chicken & without any dressing & it was yummy. But thank you to all who suggested the poppyseed dressing (I'd never has it before)- it really made this even better! Great salad, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This salad has been a favorite at ever party I have served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Best salad ever! We loved the juiciness of the fruit with the salty flavors from the bacon. This is definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We enjoyed this salad. We eat a lot of salads with lettuce and fruit (fresh and/or dried) and nuts. What was different about this one, for us, was using the tomatoes and fruit in the same salad. Usually I use either fruit OR some combo of tomatoes and veggies (cukes; peppers; ETC). I actually didn't notice the tomatoes, with all of the other flavors goin' on. I used grape tomatoes (halved), blackberries instead of blueberries, and mandarins instead of mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Bacon makes everything good! Everyone likes this salad when I make it. Usually use craisins though instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I took this to a football party yesterday, devoured with many compliments! I was disappointed my store was out of mango, so I prepared with mandarin oranges as suggested by previous reviewers, and they worked beautifully (and easily!). I also subbed dried cherries for the raisins. I used "honey-balsamic" dressing, it was delicious on this. Thanks for sharing, this is a crowd pleaser and a keeper! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/honey-balsamic-vinaigrette/detail.aspx?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I absolutely love this salad. I used mandarin oranges instead of mango and used poppy seed dressing. This makes a very visually appealing salad and tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
excellent salad!!!! i've made a few times already! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I simply love this salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States