Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Oh, it was good.I used everything but the 3 stalks of celery ( Personal taste ) so I sued 3 halves of a chopped red bell pepper. Then I felt it needed some liquid in the blender to tie it together so I added some garlic red wine vinegar, it did make it a little too strong but when I put some Italian dressing in there; it just did it! A good, simple recipe for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Wonderful base recipe. I altered to suit my style and tastes. I rarely have fresh basil on hand, but always keep homemade pesto cubes in the freezer (basil, garlic and parm all in one!). So I defrosted several of those (~3 Tbsp) and added it to approx 1/4 C each of mayo and greek yogurt. The chicken I poached, cooled, then shredded. To the mix I added one minced shallot, a couple Tbsps of finely chopped parsley, about 1/4 C toasted pine nuts, and about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. NO celery for this gal. I ended up adding a little more mayo and yogurt to get a nice consistency. Served on lightly toasted ciabatta with sliced tomato and lettuce. We LOVED this variation. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I like this food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yummo! What a great recipe. I had 1/2 of a rotisserie chicken left over from last nights dinner so I shredder and used that. The only change I made was to add more diced celery after everything was mixed together for a little crunch. When I make again I will use a little less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wow! This was awesome! I didn't worry about exact measurements cuz I always improvise and it turned out fantastic! I added about a half teaspoon of dill because I like dill and I added some dried cranberries because I like the sweetness. 2 scallions I had on hand made their way into my sandwich too. MMMMMMMmmmmm...So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
DELICIOUS! I gave it 4 stars simply because I only used 1/3 cup fresh basil and that was enough. 1 cup seems really excessive and a waste of basil. Put it on toasted hamburger buns from our local bakery. This recipe makes 8 sandwiches! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was very good and different from the usual chicken salad. I used half nonfat yogurt and half light mayo to make it a little lighter sinceI was using dark meat. I slow cooked a couple of chicken legs on low for 6 hours the day before. I served it on homemade ww bread that I pulled out of the freezer. I would say grating your own parm takes this recipe from 4 stars to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I didn't puree the ingredients for this and I never use full-fat mayo, but otherwise I made as directed. Ate it on a wheat bun as soon as I mixed it up and it was quite tasty...I imagine it will be even better after it chills a while. Thanks for a chicken salad that's different than my usual and one that gave me a chance to use some of my freshly-harvested basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is so awesome, I've already made it twice this week. I didn't follow the measurements, just used my own personal taste. I also omitted the garlic just to save everyone's breath. :) Try this on toasted ciabatta rolls with some fancy chips.......it's to DIE for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States