Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was nice for something different but will stay a distant second from classic chicken salad, mostly because if you don't like Parmesan cheese (like hubs), basil or fresh, raw garlic, you certainly won't like this. I love it all, but was glad I reduced the amounts of all three by nearly half. I loved the subtle flavors they contributed, but can't imagine using the full measurements called for! Not sure of what pureeing the celery was, but I did, but I also added some sliced celery as well for texture and crunch. I served this over Romaine lettuce leaves with hard boiled eggs and sliced tomatoes on the side and it made for a light, but satisfying lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was delicious! I boiled 3 large bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts with some salt, garlic powder and bay leaves until nearly done. I have a fear of overcooking chicken white meat, so I let the residual heat finish the cooking, and the meat was nice and moist. I boned and skined the meat and cut it up small. I chopped 2 of the celery stalks very finely and added them to the chicken, and pureed only one of the chopped stalks. I also added chopped red onion to the puree as suggested by other reviewers, and used reduced fat mayonnaise and grated fresh Parmesana Reggiano. I served the salad on sandwich sized croisants with sliced tomatoes, and this was nummy! Much better than the run of the mill chicken salads with nuts and fruit. I will definitely make this again and again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out to be some of the best! I love chicken salad and I had one leftover herb grilled chicken breast and some fresh basil in the fridge and didn't know what to make for lunch. What a pleasant surprise this little recipe turned out to be! I cut the amount of basil in half as well as the amount of celery. I put everything into the food processor along with a bit of onion powder. I used light mayo and light parmesan cheese to lighten it up and let this chill for an hour before serving. This chicken salad was creamy and delicious. It was perfect in a wrapped in a tortilla with romaine lettuce and tomato! Thanks for a really great recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Have made this several times and always get requests for the recipe. I have added chopped red onion for texture and even bowtie pasta (for a party when I knew this wouldn't go far enough). Even my kids (ages 4 & 2) love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was so good!! I used one-third sour cream, one-third mayo, and one-third cream cheese. I added chopped onion and roasted red pepper. Now I'm making this for my graduation party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
YUM. I followed this recipe exactly except I skipped pureeing (I LIKE stuff chunky). The full amounts of all the ingredients were not at all overpowering for us. I was a little worried about too much mayo, but I decided to go with my crazy idea of following the recipe and I was thrilled with the outcome. We had this on sourdough rolls with tomato and lettuce and it was lovely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Just finished putting this together and it tastes wonderful!! I didn't puree the ingredients, I just mixed them all together and it's still absolutely delicious! I added an extra garlic clove for extra spice and used freshly grated romano cheese. I bet it'll taste even better once it sits in the fridge for a few hours!! Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
Delicious!!!! Easy...one of the best Chicken Salads I've tried...and I've tried MANY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone in my house loves this! I also have small kids, so I took another reviewer's suggestion of canned chicken one step further -- I bought a rotisserie chicken at the supermarket. Good with white and dark meat. So glad I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
WOW! This recipe was DELICIOUS! My kids and husband devoured what I made then asked for more. I was nervous about the amount of mayo, but it was not an issue. Instead of using 2 whole chicken breast, I just kept adding meat to the mayo mixture until the consistency looked right. I added red onions to the puree as another member suggested and I omitted the celery (we're not big on celery). Fantastic on San Fransisco rolls, this recipe will stay in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuffNoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden Isles, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States