Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Dana C.
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was really disappointed with this recipe after reading all the rave reviews. It wasn't terrible, but the basil was very overpowering and I didn't care much for the overall flavor. Traditional chicken salads with fruits and nuts taste much better to me than this. I did let it sit in the fridge overnight thinking the flavors might improve after given more time to set, but it got so watery (and green) that it didn't even look appetizing at that point. I ended up throwing out the whole batch. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Wow! The flavors of this chicken salad are fantastic. I used chicken tenderloins that I sauteed in olive oil and omitted the garlic but stayed true to the recipe on the remainder. I served it on toasted english muffin with tomato. Yummm! A perfect summer combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME. I had some leftover Smoked Chicken that I used and I only used 1/2 C of fresh basil. It took everything in me to not eat it all in one sitting. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! I like the basil taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Oh, it was good.I used everything but the 3 stalks of celery ( Personal taste ) so I sued 3 halves of a chopped red bell pepper. Then I felt it needed some liquid in the blender to tie it together so I added some garlic red wine vinegar, it did make it a little too strong but when I put some Italian dressing in there; it just did it! A good, simple recipe for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Wonderful base recipe. I altered to suit my style and tastes. I rarely have fresh basil on hand, but always keep homemade pesto cubes in the freezer (basil, garlic and parm all in one!). So I defrosted several of those (~3 Tbsp) and added it to approx 1/4 C each of mayo and greek yogurt. The chicken I poached, cooled, then shredded. To the mix I added one minced shallot, a couple Tbsps of finely chopped parsley, about 1/4 C toasted pine nuts, and about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. NO celery for this gal. I ended up adding a little more mayo and yogurt to get a nice consistency. Served on lightly toasted ciabatta with sliced tomato and lettuce. We LOVED this variation. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I like this food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yummo! What a great recipe. I had 1/2 of a rotisserie chicken left over from last nights dinner so I shredder and used that. The only change I made was to add more diced celery after everything was mixed together for a little crunch. When I make again I will use a little less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wow! This was awesome! I didn't worry about exact measurements cuz I always improvise and it turned out fantastic! I added about a half teaspoon of dill because I like dill and I added some dried cranberries because I like the sweetness. 2 scallions I had on hand made their way into my sandwich too. MMMMMMMmmmmm...So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
DELICIOUS! I gave it 4 stars simply because I only used 1/3 cup fresh basil and that was enough. 1 cup seems really excessive and a waste of basil. Put it on toasted hamburger buns from our local bakery. This recipe makes 8 sandwiches! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States