Parmesan and Basil Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great change from chicken and fruit in a salad. I added two green onions and a chopped red pepper. I used half low fat mayo and half nonfat yogurt for the dressing and cut the cheese to about 1/2 cup to save on fat and calories. I had microwaved the chicken breasts and dumped the liquid that collected on the plate into the dressing. This was a dish to take to a friend who was home from the hospital and she raved about it. She's Italian and loves basil and garlic so it was a great match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was a good base recipe, but I had to tweek it some to make it really tasty. I did what others suggested and added some dill and yogurt and more parmesan. The measurements aren't accurate as a lot of it is done by personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I loved this! A nice change from the classic chicken salad.Very good flavor! It was a little runny after putting it through the food processor but I mixed it with the chicken and kept it in the fridge for a few hours and it was fine. I left the celery out of the processor and just put it right in with the chicken. I also added some chopped almonds and some cranberries. Will make again for sure! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very tasty, next time I will not puree the sauce though. It was a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
What a nice change from ordinary chicken salad, this is so good. We will have this when tired of eating our regular recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is fantastic! Can't wait to take it for lunch tomorrow! I only used about 1/3 cup basil and 3/4 cup mayo. Next time i may use even less mayo, but I will definitely make this over and over again - so different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made it yesterday. And I had it right away and today as well. I absolutely loved it and definitely will cook it again. I might add a little less basil next time. But this recipe is perfect as it is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this with chicken breasts that had been cooked in a curry. I used only 3 T of mayo and added 1 tablespoon cream cheese. Because onion make my husband sick, I use onion powder. My husband liked it well enough for me to make it again. Now to replicate the flavor of "cooked curry" with out making curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana C.
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was really disappointed with this recipe after reading all the rave reviews. It wasn't terrible, but the basil was very overpowering and I didn't care much for the overall flavor. Traditional chicken salads with fruits and nuts taste much better to me than this. I did let it sit in the fridge overnight thinking the flavors might improve after given more time to set, but it got so watery (and green) that it didn't even look appetizing at that point. I ended up throwing out the whole batch. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Wow! The flavors of this chicken salad are fantastic. I used chicken tenderloins that I sauteed in olive oil and omitted the garlic but stayed true to the recipe on the remainder. I served it on toasted english muffin with tomato. Yummm! A perfect summer combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States