Parmesan Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This dish is wonderful! I used roma tomatos, because they are meaty, chopped them and mixed all the ingredients together. I used fresh mozzarella cheese. After everything was thoroughly mixed, I spread it in a shallow casserole and baked per the directions. Even my tomato hating son liked this! It works well as a topping on a bagel or pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
One of my favorite side dishes! Too bad my kids don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not bad! I think I could crave these every now and then. I just don't think I am a fan of warm tomatoes on their own (as in not in pasta, etc.). Once I have the dijon mustard I'll try again. Here are the things I did differently . . . 1. Cut the recipe in half and only used 2 tomatoes. 2. Didn't have dijon mustard so I used regular mustard with about 1/4 tsp horseradish. 3. Added 1/8 tsp garlic powder. 4. Used dried parsley (didn't measure, just used what I thought looked good). 5. Baked at 350 for 8 minutes and then broiled for about 1 minute (check to see if cheese is browned). *EDIT* So I just ate one this morning (cold) and really enjoyed it. Although some people may not like the texture of the cold cheese, I really liked these when the tomato wasn't warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The mayo imparted a strong flavor that to me was kind of odd. I would suggest serving this only as a side dish and not as an appetizer because it is awkward to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These were very good. The topping is a little on the tart side. I did not have brown mustard, so had to leave that out, but otherwise, these were made as written. Next time I make these, I may cut down on the mayo, as that might be what I am finding takes this a bit over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
It was very soft and the tomatoes fell apart as soon as a fork hit them. But will try again just not baking maybe with some olive oil in the skillet to firm them up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenalee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
i was missing 1 of the mustards the day i tried it so i swapped out with reg yellow for the missing one it was pretty good i know that following your orig. recipe is 10 times better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I tried this recipe last night, I cut the recipe in half because there is only the two of us, it was delicious, even my husband enjoyed the dish, there was only one thing wrong - I did not make enough, I will do the full recipe next time. I know this will be a big hit with my friends. I will probably make it again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
The first time I tried this recipe the tomatoes came out soggy. The 2nd time I used halves of tomatoes and sprinkled with salt and set on paper towels for 30 minutes to get out a lot of the juice. They weren't soggy at all, and I like the thickness of the tomato better. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
God, my husband LOVES these! He said it was "the best new recipe I've tried all year!" (and, thanks to allrecipes.com, I've tried QUITE A FEW!) I make these quite often in the Summer. It's an EASY sidedish, which most people haven't seen/made before, (and they end up loving them!) OK, for my husband & me, I only make 2-3 tomatoes at a time. So, I use 2 T. Honey Dijon mustard (& NO brown mustard) and extra shredded mozzarella (or even shredded Cheddar, if that's all you have!). Only need to bake 10-12 minutes (watch carefully so they don't burn!) Sprinkle with parsley AFTER they've baked. So simple, but the baking really enhances the flavor of the tomato (& I don't even like tomatoes!) They're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States