Parmesan Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This time of year I am always looking for ways to use wonderful summer tomatoes, which is what led me to this recipe. I did make some changes based on personal preference. I omitted the mustards and used an Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. I also put the mozzarella and parsley in the mayonnaise mixture before spreading on the tomatoes. In addition I halved my tomatoes, rather than slicing them and broiled them, instead of baking them. After a few minutes under the broiler, my tomatoes were slightly warm throughout , but still firm, and not mushy at all. We enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The tangy flavor of the mayo was too much for me. I wanted to love this recipe, but it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I really do not like tomatoes, so I took a risk making this. Turns out, I will never eat another whole tomato unless it is made this way! I did not add the brown mustard, and it turned out great. My husband did not like these though-he thought they were a bit too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neverseparated

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These were really good and a really easy way to use up some garden tomatos. I did omit the brown mustard because I forgot to add it. I did add some minched garlic and next time I will add even more. We will be making these all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
too much mayo...and i cut the mayo in half and i left out the mustard, not bad other wise. i think it would be a better dish grilled tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This dish is wonderful! I used roma tomatos, because they are meaty, chopped them and mixed all the ingredients together. I used fresh mozzarella cheese. After everything was thoroughly mixed, I spread it in a shallow casserole and baked per the directions. Even my tomato hating son liked this! It works well as a topping on a bagel or pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
One of my favorite side dishes! Too bad my kids don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not bad! I think I could crave these every now and then. I just don't think I am a fan of warm tomatoes on their own (as in not in pasta, etc.). Once I have the dijon mustard I'll try again. Here are the things I did differently . . . 1. Cut the recipe in half and only used 2 tomatoes. 2. Didn't have dijon mustard so I used regular mustard with about 1/4 tsp horseradish. 3. Added 1/8 tsp garlic powder. 4. Used dried parsley (didn't measure, just used what I thought looked good). 5. Baked at 350 for 8 minutes and then broiled for about 1 minute (check to see if cheese is browned). *EDIT* So I just ate one this morning (cold) and really enjoyed it. Although some people may not like the texture of the cold cheese, I really liked these when the tomato wasn't warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The mayo imparted a strong flavor that to me was kind of odd. I would suggest serving this only as a side dish and not as an appetizer because it is awkward to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States