Parmesan Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I have made these tomatoes for years. Make sure you slice the tomatoes thick and try just broiling them for a few minutes till brown and bubbly rather than baking them. The tomatoes stay firmer and not so mushy as the baked ones. I also always add oregano and omit the mustards. Sometimes I even add a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was really yummy!! The kitchen smelled so good while it was cooking!! The changes I made were as follows: omitted brown mustard, used fresh basil instead of parsely,sprinkled the s&p directly on the tomatoes & I used garlic mayo.I also broiled them for a minute to brown the top.Will deffinately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Wow! These are so tasty! They can be a meal in and of themselves. This is nice because it can work as an appetizer or a side. Quick and easy, but tastes like you spent a long time. I cut back on the mustards - basically using half of each which gave it just the right amount of pizzaz. After they came out of the oven I sprinkled the tops with fresh basil vs. fresh parsley. Great blend of flavors! This is a definite keeper especially with fresh garden tomatoes over the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
You know, this isn't a complex dish and the preparation is simple and basic. But that doesn't mean it isn't worthy of five stars and in my opinion, this is. What a dressy alternative to just sliced tomatoes! I prepared this with the two mustards just as written and it proved to be a winning combination. The tang of the mustard and Parmesan was the perfect complement for the mellow mozzarella. I used fresh rather than dried oregano as I'm lucky enough to have it in my garden. A quick finish under the broiler browned these up nicely. This is easy, uses quality ingredients, is pretty on the plate and, most important, is full of delicious flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
definately add some garlic, and don't slice the tomatoes to thin or they will fall apart -- We like about 1/4th to 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I adjusted this recipe a bit towards my tastes but it is a good recipe all by itslef. I added mushrooms, red onion and ricotta cheese because I had them on hand. Instead of putting the tomatoes singly on a baking sheet, I put them in a glass pie plate (sprayed with PAM) and spread the mayo mixture over it to bake. Magnificent!! The ricotta cheese was the best addition, by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCGRAWACTOR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I was surprised how yummy this simple recipe was when I used it on some overly ripe tomatoes. I added some olive oil & left out the brown mustard (I only had dijon on hand). Next time I would halve the amount of mayo used - was just a little too strong. Thick slices worked well - it didn't end up too watery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
5 Stars Plus! What a fantastic recipe for summertime, when tomatoes are plentiful. I made this for a casual BBQ yesterday and everyone loved them. I did switch from Bake to Broil at the end to get the mozzarella cheese brown and bubbly. Everyone went back for seconds! Ii will absolutely make this recipe again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Wonderful! I omitted the mustard. Used lots of Italian seasongs; basil, oregeno, etc. Got the biggest tomatoes I could find for this recipe (now that is all I buy, they are so good!) Hubby said this is like eating at a gormet restaurant! Thanks Natalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Easy and fabulous. Must rate this 5 stars as it is easy, with ingredients normally on hand and wonderful. We've made this regularly with the abundant tomatoes from our garden...and even in the winter as it spruces up not so great tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States