Parmesan Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
You know, this isn't a complex dish and the preparation is simple and basic. But that doesn't mean it isn't worthy of five stars and in my opinion, this is. What a dressy alternative to just sliced tomatoes! I prepared this with the two mustards just as written and it proved to be a winning combination. The tang of the mustard and Parmesan was the perfect complement for the mellow mozzarella. I used fresh rather than dried oregano as I'm lucky enough to have it in my garden. A quick finish under the broiler browned these up nicely. This is easy, uses quality ingredients, is pretty on the plate and, most important, is full of delicious flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
gotta love all that cheeese Mm. It was really quick esay to make. The tomatoes were a little mushy, but next time ill cook them a lil less. about 8 min only. maybe that will work. Def do broil for the last min or 2. great way to get your vegies in. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Nothing completely special, but good way to use up some tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
A little too mushy for my taste. May try to do the broil method rather than baking for 10 minutes and broiling a few minutes at the end to brown the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This time of year I am always looking for ways to use wonderful summer tomatoes, which is what led me to this recipe. I did make some changes based on personal preference. I omitted the mustards and used an Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. I also put the mozzarella and parsley in the mayonnaise mixture before spreading on the tomatoes. In addition I halved my tomatoes, rather than slicing them and broiled them, instead of baking them. After a few minutes under the broiler, my tomatoes were slightly warm throughout , but still firm, and not mushy at all. We enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The tangy flavor of the mayo was too much for me. I wanted to love this recipe, but it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I really do not like tomatoes, so I took a risk making this. Turns out, I will never eat another whole tomato unless it is made this way! I did not add the brown mustard, and it turned out great. My husband did not like these though-he thought they were a bit too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neverseparated

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These were really good and a really easy way to use up some garden tomatos. I did omit the brown mustard because I forgot to add it. I did add some minched garlic and next time I will add even more. We will be making these all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
too much mayo...and i cut the mayo in half and i left out the mustard, not bad other wise. i think it would be a better dish grilled tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States