Parmesan Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were fabulous! I used whole grain bread crumbs and followed the other users suggestions - I sauteed half a yellow onion and three cloves of garlic in 1/3 cup of canola oil (a little healthier than the butter in the recipe) before adding it to the spinach. One cup of bread crumbs was PLENTY. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and rolled the balls in extra Parmesan before baking. This created a wonderful, crunchy crust on the outside of each ball, although it made them a little salty. But it was worth it! Like one of other reviewers said, it took mine almost thirty minutes in the oven before they browned, and I made mine smaller than what the recipe suggested. Served with some leftover spaghetti sauce and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made these exactly as the recipe calls for and we were amazed by how much they tasted like regular meatballs. Will be making these again and using them in spaghetti as a great vegetarian (I only eat poultry) alternative. Also, it should be noted that if you don't have a huge baking sheet, you might have to be creative. I wound up using 2 smaller baking sheets plus a broiler pan covered in foil just to fit them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinach_Happens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Surprisingly good considering I like spinach, but don't love it. I added some minced garlic, extra parmesan, & a few drops of some hot sauce for extra flavor. I would definitely use less spinach next time, but overall they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I cut the recipe in half. But I still only had about 8 oz of spinach and a hair under 1/2 c parmesan cheese. I don't think mine really browned, but I took them out after 17 minutes. They were done and tasty. rather salty tho, and I didn't add any salt at all. would consider making them again, but probably not, since the draining of the spinach frustrates me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were a nice fresh addition to our super bowl party, but i felt they lacked the flavor I was looking for as the recipe is written. They definately need a good dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Kids wouldn't eat them, unfortunately. Use cracked whole wheat & italian seasonings in place of bread crumbs to make healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
easy and yummy! My 2 1/2 and 7 1/2 even loved them! I will be making this one a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I use asiago cheese too and roll the balls in cheese. If you freeze them on a cookie sheet and then package them you will always have some ready to go appetizers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These were great! I used fresh spinach and I didn't chop it very well so mine looked a little funky, but they were still delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was disappointed in this recipe. The balls were just okay, not something I would make again. I love spinach and still didn't care for these. On the plus side, these were super easy too make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States