Parmesan Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for an appetizer to serve in parmesan baskets and someone on the Recipe Buzz recommended these to me. I'm so glad they did, because they were simple and yummy! At first bite, I wasn't sure, but then I couldn't stop eating them! I did add a spoonful of minced garlic and a dash of cayenne for a little kick (and I'll add a little more next time). I froze some for future easy appetizers. THANKS, tish, for a nice appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
these are really good, even the kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christines Comfort Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My mom made these for a football game and they weren't a huge hit with our family. I'm reviewing on her behalf because she doesnt write reviews. She satueed onion and garlic in butter and added cayenne, garlic powder and a little salt to the mixture. They were very dry and just okay, not much taste. She is going to try the leftovers with marina sauce & pasta but as of now she said she wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My two daughters 3 and 2 actually enjoyed this dish. My oldest one took some of the spinach out but she still ate it and enjoyed it. I used seasoned salt instead of salt and added garlic powder to it as well. You can eat this plain or with marinara or pizza sauce. Great snack instead of the regular chips and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These tasted OK when I tried them. However, I started feeling sick later on. Would not make these again, I guess the overall flavor was not as good as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These are scrumptious! We had these as a side for dinner and they went over very well. Next time I will play around with the ingredients; adding other veggies and maybe even using whole wheat bread crumbs instead. I broiled them for a bit at the end to get a good crunch on the outside. Consider this a new favorite for us, thanks "tish"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I really liked these, and I didn't even have any dip with them. I sauteed minced fresh garlic with the onion and fresh spinach, then proceeded to follow recipe. I can't wait to try these with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
DELISH! I make these and eat them with marinara for dipping or dijon mustard! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were fabulous! I used whole grain bread crumbs and followed the other users suggestions - I sauteed half a yellow onion and three cloves of garlic in 1/3 cup of canola oil (a little healthier than the butter in the recipe) before adding it to the spinach. One cup of bread crumbs was PLENTY. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and rolled the balls in extra Parmesan before baking. This created a wonderful, crunchy crust on the outside of each ball, although it made them a little salty. But it was worth it! Like one of other reviewers said, it took mine almost thirty minutes in the oven before they browned, and I made mine smaller than what the recipe suggested. Served with some leftover spaghetti sauce and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made these exactly as the recipe calls for and we were amazed by how much they tasted like regular meatballs. Will be making these again and using them in spaghetti as a great vegetarian (I only eat poultry) alternative. Also, it should be noted that if you don't have a huge baking sheet, you might have to be creative. I wound up using 2 smaller baking sheets plus a broiler pan covered in foil just to fit them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinach_Happens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States