Parmesan Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe on Thanksgiving everybody loved them we picked at them all day. Their was one comment that came up often this could use dipping sauce. I drew a blank. Anyone have any any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILYBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was added to our Thanksgiving table this year, and I must say it is an excellent (and incredibly easy) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I've made a similar recipe and served it with spaghetti sauce as a side dish. It's a great way to use up leftover rice. My recipe came from a Woman's Day 2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are good but I am going back to my old standby recipe, Stove Top Spinach Balls. I think the bread crumbs dry this one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were good and my guests enjoyed. I liked this recipe as it contained items I usually have on hand, so making this last minute will be a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have been making this for years and it is always a hit. To make them a little easier to serve and eat, I put one straight, thin pretzel in the middle of each ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is always a hit and it's so simple to do. I leave out the green onion, cut the bread crumbs to 1 1/2 cups, and add 1 tsp italian seasoning (Epicure Pasta spice, to be exact) to keep it flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love this recipe and all the modifications others have made to suit their tastes. Here's what we do: I double the frozen spinach to four 10oz. packages (for more spinach flavor). Substitute 1 cup of the bread crumbs with 1 cup of blanched almond flour (for lower carbs) and add some extra Italian seasoning to that. Use 1/4 cup of finely diced white or yellow onion instead of green onion and use 2 whole eggs plus 2 x-lrg egg whites (for less sat fat). I think the butter adds the richness needed, so I leave that as is. I don't usually add garlic, b/c I don't want to saute anything for this easy recipe, but I have added garlic raw and a little goes a long way. A little fresh grated nutmeg (1/4 tsp) is wonderful in this as well. I usually cook up a few for our meal that day and then roll out the rest onto a baking sheet lined with parchment and freeze (uncooked) individually on that. Once frozen I transfer them to a freezer bag. They cook up beautifully from frozen in 25 minutes. Great to have on hand when company arrives unexpected. Will have to try them with the recommended Sangiovese, but have served with Sauvignon Blanc very successfully. I have made this recipe as written and they are fabulous. But the beauty of them is that they CAN be modified quite successfully to your tastes. Don't pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were awesome. I took others advice and sauted regular onions and some garlic. I also added some a bit of crumbled bacon and cayenne pepper. Cooked them probably 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for an appetizer to serve in parmesan baskets and someone on the Recipe Buzz recommended these to me. I'm so glad they did, because they were simple and yummy! At first bite, I wasn't sure, but then I couldn't stop eating them! I did add a spoonful of minced garlic and a dash of cayenne for a little kick (and I'll add a little more next time). I froze some for future easy appetizers. THANKS, tish, for a nice appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States