Parmesan Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I tried this recipe for a church finger food luncheon. It was well received and several people asked for the recipe. I also had a couple of people say they don't care for spinach but heard others saying how good they were so they tried them and they loved them too. I did follow several of the suggestions offered by other members. I thawed and squeezed dry the spinach before beginning. I cut the Italian bread crumbs to 1 cup. I used one med. yellow onion (instead of the green onions) and 2 cloves of minced garlic and sauteed those in the 1/2 cup butter. I also took another recommendation and added about 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon. I made them no larger than 1 inch and they took every bit of 30 minutes to achieve the light brown. They weren't over cooked in the center at all. They were no where close to being done at 15 minutes. I'd definitely make these again. They were delicious and very well received. But for me they took considerably longer to make and considerably longer to bake than stated in the menu. Partially due to my additions. No matter. They're worth the time either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This was super easy to thow together, but I felt it need a little bit more flavor so I added 3-4 cloves of mnced garlic and 1 tsp of cyanne and it gave this recipe the extra flavor and kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
These were a huge hit at the party! I cut back on the bread crumbs, added garlic and onion powder, cayenne and some yellow onion. I took LGRIER514's advice and rolled the balls into more parm. I served this with a marina sauce and a sweet honey mustard sauce. Excellent and healthy too Tish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
These are pretty good. I made a batch of them on Friday night for Valentine's Day hors d'oeuvres and only baked a small amount. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I froze the rest for a dinner party this week. I added some cayenne and garlic powder to this recipe and rolled them in fresh grated parmesan before baking as suggested. I didn't serve a dipping sauce, but I have some pizza sauce left in my refrigerator that I'm going to heat up for my company this week. I'm going to pull them out of the freezer in advance so they'll thaw since I don't know if I can bake them frozen or not. Very easy, and definitely a keeper for the freezer. -- P.S. I pulled them out of the freezer the other night and let them defrost before baking them for my guests. I find that either fresh or defrosted, they need 15 minutes to cook. They were fabulous, and all of my guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made my own variation of these. I only used 1 cup of bread crumbs. I sauteed with the butter 3 cloves of garlic. I also added lots of crumbled bacon. I added extra Parmesan cheese, a little paprika, and hot sauce. These are absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Pretty good base, but I spruced it up a little. I used only 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs, added garlic, 1 T hot sauce, 1 cup sour cream and sauteed 1 cup onion in the butter. I also added some chopped artichoke hearts. I didn't add salt and used only 3 eggs. It gave it much more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
My husband and I loved these. I only had plain bread crumbs so I added some italian herbs (oregano, thyme, basil). I took the advise of other reviewers and sauted some garlic and yellow onion in the butter and omitted the green onion. These smelled wonderful while they were baking. I took them to a potluck of about 40 people, but few people ate them. A friend of mine (who ate 6) said people just didn't know what they were. Next time I'll label them. This made my husband happy, though, because he got to eat the left-overs. These things were terrific and my friends don't know what they missed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This recipe was hit at my last party! would definitely make it again, I also added some garlic & cayenne pepper to give them a kick :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
These were very easy to make and very tasty. Based on other reviews, I reduced the amount of breadcrumbs and added some spices (basil, oregano, garlic powder) to liven them up. My boyfriend thought they were a little dry, but everyone else liked them quite a bit. I served these at a party, and we all discovered we liked them even more with ranch dip - I bet they would be particularly tasty with marinara sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I would have given this recipe 4 stars if it had been me who liked it! I made this the other day for a finger food social night, but wasn't impressed when I tried it for myself, so I wasn't going to take it. My hubby tried it and liked it as did my son so I decided to take it and they really liked it and asked for the recipe! Maybe my taste buds were just off that day - I don't know, but it was definitely easy to make (but a bit messy) and quick also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States