Parmesan Spinach Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have been making this for years and it is always a hit. To make them a little easier to serve and eat, I put one straight, thin pretzel in the middle of each ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is always a hit and it's so simple to do. I leave out the green onion, cut the bread crumbs to 1 1/2 cups, and add 1 tsp italian seasoning (Epicure Pasta spice, to be exact) to keep it flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love this recipe and all the modifications others have made to suit their tastes. Here's what we do: I double the frozen spinach to four 10oz. packages (for more spinach flavor). Substitute 1 cup of the bread crumbs with 1 cup of blanched almond flour (for lower carbs) and add some extra Italian seasoning to that. Use 1/4 cup of finely diced white or yellow onion instead of green onion and use 2 whole eggs plus 2 x-lrg egg whites (for less sat fat). I think the butter adds the richness needed, so I leave that as is. I don't usually add garlic, b/c I don't want to saute anything for this easy recipe, but I have added garlic raw and a little goes a long way. A little fresh grated nutmeg (1/4 tsp) is wonderful in this as well. I usually cook up a few for our meal that day and then roll out the rest onto a baking sheet lined with parchment and freeze (uncooked) individually on that. Once frozen I transfer them to a freezer bag. They cook up beautifully from frozen in 25 minutes. Great to have on hand when company arrives unexpected. Will have to try them with the recommended Sangiovese, but have served with Sauvignon Blanc very successfully. I have made this recipe as written and they are fabulous. But the beauty of them is that they CAN be modified quite successfully to your tastes. Don't pass this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were awesome. I took others advice and sauted regular onions and some garlic. I also added some a bit of crumbled bacon and cayenne pepper. Cooked them probably 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was looking for an appetizer to serve in parmesan baskets and someone on the Recipe Buzz recommended these to me. I'm so glad they did, because they were simple and yummy! At first bite, I wasn't sure, but then I couldn't stop eating them! I did add a spoonful of minced garlic and a dash of cayenne for a little kick (and I'll add a little more next time). I froze some for future easy appetizers. THANKS, tish, for a nice appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
these are really good, even the kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christines Comfort Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My mom made these for a football game and they weren't a huge hit with our family. I'm reviewing on her behalf because she doesnt write reviews. She satueed onion and garlic in butter and added cayenne, garlic powder and a little salt to the mixture. They were very dry and just okay, not much taste. She is going to try the leftovers with marina sauce & pasta but as of now she said she wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My two daughters 3 and 2 actually enjoyed this dish. My oldest one took some of the spinach out but she still ate it and enjoyed it. I used seasoned salt instead of salt and added garlic powder to it as well. You can eat this plain or with marinara or pizza sauce. Great snack instead of the regular chips and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These tasted OK when I tried them. However, I started feeling sick later on. Would not make these again, I guess the overall flavor was not as good as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These are scrumptious! We had these as a side for dinner and they went over very well. Next time I will play around with the ingredients; adding other veggies and maybe even using whole wheat bread crumbs instead. I broiled them for a bit at the end to get a good crunch on the outside. Consider this a new favorite for us, thanks "tish"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States