Parmesan Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I noticed that people are having trouble making the breading stay on, I made these again just 2 nights ago and they turned out perfect as always. You need to use really fine grated parmesan, it has to be powdery and what I do is I really press the breading onto them. The breading shouldn't fall off and you need quite a bit of butter because the breading absorbs most of the butter and when you turn the scallops over the pan will get too dry if there's not enough butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was quick and delicious. We used italian bread crumbs and egg to make it stick better instead of cream and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I also added some Old Bay, but instead of light cream, I let them soak in plain milk for about 2-3 minutes, and the crust stayed on completely. I also finished them with a dried little dill weed. FANTASTIC, I too will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a tasty and really easy way to make scallops. I did put the scallops in an egg wash before I breaded them. I had hoped that the breading would stick better than being put directly on the scallops. It didn't help enough. Half of the breading came off in the pan. Also use less butter than the recipe calls for or it will be a little greasy. I will make these again but I will try something else to keep the breading on it better. Also try to get scallops that are very close in size otherwise some will be perfect and others overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were fantastic!! I crushed the cracker crumbs to dust and I also greated my parm cheese to dust and pressed it into my scallops and my first batch I noticed the coating fell off a little so I just cooked the 2nd a little longer to a toast brown colour and the coating stayed on. Will make these weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I tried the breading but used flour first, then egg and then dipped in breading, coating did not stay on the scallops. I think the flavor is good but this mixture just doesn't grab ahold of scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Quick and Easy! This is the first time I attempted to make scallops at home and they were delicious! I had a little trouble with the breading not completely sticking to the scallops but all-in-all...would recommend to others. Thanks for the tip about the Old Bay...it was a good addition. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
The use of the light cream in lieu of something like egg/egg whites made it so the breading didn't stick as well and half of the scallops were missing the coating after cooking/flipping. In addition, a touch of salt and pepper goes a long way to finishing and rounding the flavor of this dish - that said, when I added the salt/pepper (and a small drizzle of lemon over each scallop), they tasted superb. Follow my lead and this 3-star recipe can become a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
My family really liked this recipe but I could not get the batter to stick to the scallops. I mixed one egg and some of the cream together thinking that the little bit of egg would help do the trick but it did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Fabulous and easy too! I did add some Old Bay too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States