Parmesan Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe didn't work for me at all. I used butter instead of margarine, so that might be the reason, but I also found the instructions somewhat lacking. I'm not a novice cook, but having never made this type of "puff" before, I had a lot of unanswered questions. Should I use a whisk or a spoon? What type of pan? Was I supposed to transfer the mixture to a bowl before adding the eggs or beat them in the hot pan I was already using? More specific instructions would have REALLY helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Wow! What a great appetizer. In less than half an hour, they were on our plates and being eaten. Very simple to make and even the kids (and adults) with the picky appetites loved them. We will definitely make them again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melvin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BEPOSITIVE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
These turned out very well. The texture was perfect, soft on the inside and slightly crispy on the outside. I used a whisk to combine the flour with the milk/margarine which combined it well, but had some trouble getting it out of the whisk. Then I took it off the heat and pushed the mixture to the side. Added the eggs to the side of the mixture, whisked them and then mixed it all together. Worked very well. These made a lovely appetizer for our Valentine's Day dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I had a go at these for Valentine's Day. I made them for an d'oeuvre and they weren't puffs but more like "cookies". I think it's b/c I added the flour too quickly to the milk/butter mixture resulting in lots of clumping. When I added the eggs I tried to de-clump the dough but I don't think it worked too well. I put in extra parm and also added pine nuts. They were good but I could definitely taste the flour clumps. I will be trying them again b/c of the rave reviews they got! My hubbie liked them too, but I want to LOVE them like everyone else! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Next time I'll use 1/5 the milk, some yeast cake and a little sugar, and SMALL eggs. I thickened it up with extra flour and it still ran flat. The flavor's pretty good. Use fresh parmesan and grate it; don't be lazy. I made a butter and garlic mix to put on it and it turned out ok. This is a good recipe. Someone needs to perfect it and post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Fantastic! The secret to these is keeping the balls REALLY SMALL as the recipe says; do not go above one rounded tsp. and you won't get soggy middles. I added: garlic salt, about 1 tsp. dried basil, fresh black pepper, and about 1/2 cup grated cheddar. Watch them carefully so the bottoms don't burn; if they start over-cooking just turn it down to 350 for the last while. Thank you so much for these! They're beautiful & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These puffs were okay. They turned out flat, and the parmesan flavor was overwhelming. I'm not sure if I'd make them again; maybe with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this experimentally one time. My fiancee loves them now and anytime I mess up I can just make a batch (or 2.. or 5) and it gets me out of the dog house in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
def making this for my family I'm going to use mozerella cheese though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
these did not rise at all for me.. they came out of the oven as cheesy little globs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States