Parmesan Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Excellent! Here's my tip. Skip the marinara completely. Once out of the oven and cooled so they are firm but still warm, drizzle a creamy garlic butter/garlic paste over them. That way you get a nice garlic flavor over the base of cheesy dough. My wife and I loved them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I've made these two times for my husband and they turned out great both times. The second time I added garlic salt and pepper for an added kick. If you have had problems with the milk, your heat may have been to high, try turning it down and try the recipe againg - they are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Fantastic! The secret to these is keeping the balls REALLY SMALL as the recipe says; do not go above one rounded tsp. and you won't get soggy middles. I added: garlic salt, about 1 tsp. dried basil, fresh black pepper, and about 1/2 cup grated cheddar. Watch them carefully so the bottoms don't burn; if they start over-cooking just turn it down to 350 for the last while. Thank you so much for these! They're beautiful & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great Idea!!! This is basically a cream puff recipe with cheese added. I have made basic puffs many x's. Instructs are a bit vague and my recipe for uses water instead of the milk. Made recipe twice as follows: 1/2 c water, 1/4 margarine or butter (both work), 1/2 c flour, 2 eggs 1/2 tsp Garlic Herb seasoning with 1/2 c real Parm. cheese or 1/2 tsp dry ranch mix with 3/4 c cheddar. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Heat water, butter and seasoning to a rolling boil. Stir flour in vigourously over low heat until mixture forms a ball. Remove from heat. Beat in eggs, all at once with an electric mixer until smooth and a bit drier. Drop by tsp or small cookie scoop onto wax paper lined pan. Bake until puffed and golden. The leavening is the eggs. Important that they are beaten (with a mixer) into the flour mix until smooth and gets a bit drier looking. I baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes for puffs the size of a walnut. Normally puffs are filled with something. Try these sliced open with a chunck of string cheese , pepperoni, cream cheese etc. Use your imagination. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This was the easiest appetizer I've ever made that looked somewhat complex, and everyone loved them. They are a perfect winter appetizer as they come out hot, crispy on the outside and mushy on the inside. I doubled the receipe to serve 12 at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I also tried to make these twice. Didn't have a problem with the milk separating but the first batch was burnt on the bottom and they are extremely greasy! The second batch I don't know what went wrong but it was way too sticky and liquidy to even form a ball with. I would never make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This is an easy recipe that came out great! I seem to like the puffs a little bigger so I let them cook longer (about 25-30 min) and then took them out of the oven to let the insides cook. My roommate kept coming out to have more and she asked me for the recipe. I've eaten them both warm and cold, with and without warm or cold marina sauce, they still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I definately need to double or triple the batch next time. I didn't have any problems with the milk curdling(I used skim milk) and thought that the recipe was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe is very easy to make and my family loved them. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I don't know why some reviewers have rated this recipe so low because every time I've made them for parties, they are gone within 10 minutes! I suspect any low ratings (e.g. coming out flat, not cooking right) may have come from not following the directions exactly. That is extremely important for this recipe to come out as intended. Do NOT attempt to skip steps (I know this from experience!). For instance, skipping step #2 will result in them coming out flat. Also, be sure to follow the sizing specs when putting them on the pan. It calls for rounded teaspoonfuls, not tablespoon. They will come out a respectable size, fully-cooked in the time indicated. Finally, use an electric mixer! This will help incorporate the egg into the flour ball and make them more "puffy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States