Parmesan Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great Idea!!! This is basically a cream puff recipe with cheese added. I have made basic puffs many x's. Instructs are a bit vague and my recipe for uses water instead of the milk. Made recipe twice as follows: 1/2 c water, 1/4 margarine or butter (both work), 1/2 c flour, 2 eggs 1/2 tsp Garlic Herb seasoning with 1/2 c real Parm. cheese or 1/2 tsp dry ranch mix with 3/4 c cheddar. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Heat water, butter and seasoning to a rolling boil. Stir flour in vigourously over low heat until mixture forms a ball. Remove from heat. Beat in eggs, all at once with an electric mixer until smooth and a bit drier. Drop by tsp or small cookie scoop onto wax paper lined pan. Bake until puffed and golden. The leavening is the eggs. Important that they are beaten (with a mixer) into the flour mix until smooth and gets a bit drier looking. I baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes for puffs the size of a walnut. Normally puffs are filled with something. Try these sliced open with a chunck of string cheese , pepperoni, cream cheese etc. Use your imagination. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! Everyone loved them. The next time I make them I will oil the cookie sheet as they were a bit hard to get off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Good, could have used something more... not sure what....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
They tasted too much like egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was pretty good but I think all the Parmesan makes it have a very strong flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterdogs3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This puffs are really yummy and light, but not as cheesy as I expected. I love Italian food, and these puffs dipped in spaghetti sauce make the perfect snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Eveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Just made these for dinner. Too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Mine also turned out like pancakes. They tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were good, but a bit eggy. Mine took about 5 more minutes than stated to bake. I'm not sure how they'd be cold, and since I have a few left I'm a bit worried. I just used a spoon to mix the flour in and it was fine, but it was quite difficult to mix in all the ingredients at the end. I was a bit worried about the egg cooking in the mix, so I put a bit of the mixture in the egg to warm it up and gradually added the egg into the mixture. That seemed to work. I'd probably use less egg next time and I'll try it with marinara sauce--we just ate it plain this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Well...the puffs came out LOOKING like puffs, but the inside was somewhat empty with lots of airholes and stuff. I think it's because I used butter instead of margarine? I also used extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of parmesan...maybe that was it too? I'm not sure, but these puffs weren't so puffy. The insides looked undone and a tiny bit soggy and weird. Anyway, everyone liked the way the puffs looked and tasted, so I guess it turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetie Makie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States