Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
used ham not bacon added frozen peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
love love love this soup!!! very easy al the different flavors compliment eachother i will def make this soup at least once or twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Love this recipe! Like all truly great soups, it is easy and forgiving. I took the suggestion of many reviewers and used more potatoes than called for. I used 7 medium potatoes. I sauteed chopped veggies (celery, carrot, and minced garlic) in the oil. I didn't add sage at all but used the other suggested spices. Once the potatoes were added into the soup, I used my potato masher to gently break up some of my potato cubes into smaller pieces. This also thickened my soup. It made a lot...about 8 to 10 hearty servings. it is rich and flavorful and my teenage boys and husband loved it...they all ate a double serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent as written. It makes a lot, as most soups do, so we had plenty of yummy left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This soup was wonderful... We had some left over and very few potatoes were left in it. I added some frozen hash browns to this and it was even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really pleased & my family loved it. I did cut back to 4 cups of chicken broth & 3 cups of milk & it was the perfect consistency for us. Next time I will add a couple more potatoes since I like mine chunky. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good flavors in this soup. I cut the broth and milk in half and used butter instead of margarine. I added bay leaf (remove before serving) and dill weed. Used only 6 slices bacon. Eliminated the celery salt and seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love it!Love it!Love it! This recipe is awesome just the way it is. However, I did do a few things different. Instead of using margarine, I sauteed onions, garlic, portabello mushrooms in the bacon grease. I also didn't bother with boiling my potatoes in a separate pot. I just added them to the sauteed veggies added my spices and chicken broth. Then followed the recipe from there. Also, if you want a little kick fresh green chili is awesome!Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this soup with a few changes. I used 6 good-sized red-skinned potatoes instead of 4 as several reviewers said there weren't enough potatoes. I added a couple ribs of celery, sliced, shortly before adding the cheese. I like my celery hot but still crunchy. The celery added a nice bit of color & a little more nutrition without substantially changing the basic recipe. The big change that I made was eliminating the chicken broth & using the potato cooking water instead. This makes the soup much more economical & there is a tremendous amount of potato flavor in the cooking water as well as lots of nutrition. In other potato soup recipes that I've tried I couldn't really taste the broth with all the seasonings, cheese & bacon or ham but it always seemed like something was missing. I found the missing ingredient when I made those recipes again using the potato water instead of broth. The soup was much better...true comfort food. I'd give the recipe 4 stars as written or 5 with my changes. This soup would probably be really good with ham & Cheddar cheese substituted for the bacon & Parmesan. I intend to find out. Thanks for the great recipe, Kristin. It's the best tater soup I ever tasted! I will be making this soup often. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Didn't have all the "salts." As others suggested, I put in more potatoes & only 1/2 the milk. Good, but next time, double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States