Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This soup is awesome. I did as others suggested and added additional potatoes, cut back on the milk so it was a bit creamier, and I also left out the salt since there were so many other salt ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Awesome and unique soup!! Very simple to make! I ommitted the sage (none available), reduced the amount of thyme by half and only used 3 1/2cups of milk (which was all I thought was neccessary to keep the soup at the consistency that we enjoy). Very flavorful and "high-class." Next time, I may use 1-2 more potatoes and perhaps even the addition of a 1/2c celery while sauting the onions. Excellent soup and would go great as a first course entree' to any meal!! Thanks Kristin for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Wow! What a soup! I used 3 large russet potatoes in mine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
The flavors of the soup were very rich and sharp. You could really taste the parmesam, and the bacon added a nice smokey flavor to the soup. I halved the butter in this recipe, and ended up just caramelizing the onions, since I think the flavor is a little better if you can get them nice and brown. I also stopped adding milk at 4 cups, because it was a pretty thin soup by that time and I wanted it to retain some thickness. Overall, a very easy and tasty soup to make; quick to prepare and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious!!. I used only 2 14.5oz cans of chicken broth (not the 4.5 cups called for) and 1 to 2 cups of milk. I wanted it thick. I also added about a tablespoon of granulated garlic to the spice mix. Thanks for a great recipe. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
You weren't kidding! This was the best potato soup ever! I added garlic, didn't add all the salts, doubled up on the basil, used buttermilk and cut the amount in half. Also, I cooked the onions in the bacon drippings. Boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
We will make it over and over! It's easy and oh so tasty. We were sorry we didn't double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Served this on a cool summer evening and we all loved it, even my picky son. Wish I would have read reviews ahead of time because I agree with others that it could use a couple more potatoes and a cup or two less milk. Because there are so many salty ingredients in this recipe, I used no-salt butter to sauté the onions and low salt bacon and chicken broth. I then changed the celery salt to celery seed and the onion salt to onion powder. I also cut back on the sage because I am not a huge fan. We thought it tasted perfect. Served with salad and warm rolls, along with fruit and had a great supper. Thanks, Kristin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was so delicious! The only thing I did differently was to omit the sage, up the amount of Parmesan, and I also added a splash of heavy cream. So good with warm crusty bread on a chilly day. Thanks, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
This soup was delicious! All the flavors; the onion, bacon, potato and parmesan compliment eachother very well. Its very easy to make, but the result is definitely restaurant quality. I used less milk and didn't have all the spices on hand but the soup turned out great anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States