Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This soup is awesome. I did as others suggested and added additional potatoes, cut back on the milk so it was a bit creamier, and I also left out the salt since there were so many other salt ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Awesome and unique soup!! Very simple to make! I ommitted the sage (none available), reduced the amount of thyme by half and only used 3 1/2cups of milk (which was all I thought was neccessary to keep the soup at the consistency that we enjoy). Very flavorful and "high-class." Next time, I may use 1-2 more potatoes and perhaps even the addition of a 1/2c celery while sauting the onions. Excellent soup and would go great as a first course entree' to any meal!! Thanks Kristin for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Wow! What a soup! I used 3 large russet potatoes in mine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
The flavors of the soup were very rich and sharp. You could really taste the parmesam, and the bacon added a nice smokey flavor to the soup. I halved the butter in this recipe, and ended up just caramelizing the onions, since I think the flavor is a little better if you can get them nice and brown. I also stopped adding milk at 4 cups, because it was a pretty thin soup by that time and I wanted it to retain some thickness. Overall, a very easy and tasty soup to make; quick to prepare and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious!!. I used only 2 14.5oz cans of chicken broth (not the 4.5 cups called for) and 1 to 2 cups of milk. I wanted it thick. I also added about a tablespoon of granulated garlic to the spice mix. Thanks for a great recipe. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
You weren't kidding! This was the best potato soup ever! I added garlic, didn't add all the salts, doubled up on the basil, used buttermilk and cut the amount in half. Also, I cooked the onions in the bacon drippings. Boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
We will make it over and over! It's easy and oh so tasty. We were sorry we didn't double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Served this on a cool summer evening and we all loved it, even my picky son. Wish I would have read reviews ahead of time because I agree with others that it could use a couple more potatoes and a cup or two less milk. Because there are so many salty ingredients in this recipe, I used no-salt butter to sauté the onions and low salt bacon and chicken broth. I then changed the celery salt to celery seed and the onion salt to onion powder. I also cut back on the sage because I am not a huge fan. We thought it tasted perfect. Served with salad and warm rolls, along with fruit and had a great supper. Thanks, Kristin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was so delicious! The only thing I did differently was to omit the sage, up the amount of Parmesan, and I also added a splash of heavy cream. So good with warm crusty bread on a chilly day. Thanks, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
This soup was delicious! All the flavors; the onion, bacon, potato and parmesan compliment eachother very well. Its very easy to make, but the result is definitely restaurant quality. I used less milk and didn't have all the spices on hand but the soup turned out great anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States