Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is sooooooo yummy!! My son who is a picky eater had 3 bowls last night and 2 bowls for breakfast! i did however put my bacon on the top of each bowl (i don't like sawgy bacon! And i also used more than the recommended amount of potatoes, i used 7 and that seems to be perfect! The first time 4 just wasn't enough. i also used the parmesan blend of cheese instead of just parmesan! This is deffinitely a keeper!! yummy!!:)Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
We made this on Christmas and all our guests loved it. We did reduce the amount of milk we added to approximately 3/4 of what it called for. I would recommend highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This soup is amazing. It's so good I ate it for 3 days. The next time I make it I will also put in little egg drop dumplings (flour,egg & water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was a great rainy day dinner. I would definitely increase the number of potatoes with the liquid amounts listed. Next time, I think I'll decrease the milk as suggested by another review. I also omitted the salts since I was using boullion for the broth and I substituted 1/2 tsp. of poultry seasoning for the sage and thyme. I think I'll use the first stage, prior to adding cheese and milk as a basis for chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Great soup! I added about 1/4-1/2 tsp red pepper flakes to add a little spice. I also used red potatos and added about 3 cloves of minced garlic in while they boiled away. Lastly, I just dumped the entire container of cheese in too (about 1 3/4 cups). Yummy! Next time I might add browned, ground sausage to the mix. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
FANTASTIC!!! What a great twist on an old favorite. I didn't make many changes except instead of 6 cups of milk (cause I didn't have it)I used 3 cups of evaporated milk and 3 cups of half & half. I also used 1/2 of the bacon (used pepper bacon) the recipe called for (and would rather sprinkle on top as a garnish than mix in). I also used fresh grated parmesan (not the canned stuff). If your using canned I don't think you'll get much of what this soup has to offer. My soup wasn't THAT thick, but it wasn't thin either, but once refridgerated (if you have leftovers), it got really thick. This one is definitely a keeper and will make many times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was ok. I think too much milk diluted the flavors or something (and I only put in 5 cups). I used 5 TBS of butter instead of 1/2 cup, and 4 cups of broth. I like my soups thicker, so after I added the milk I let it come to a simmer so it would thicken. Hopefully the leftovers are better. It was a little troublesome to make too, with boiling the potatoes separtately and all. I think if they were cooked in the broth it would have been a lot better. Plus, I could hardly taste the parmesan- kind of made me sad that it used so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
this was pretty good. I added chopped garlic and broccoli and used oregano in place of basil since I was out. 6 slices of bacon was enough; 12 would've been overkill. I only used 3 1/4 cups of milk but the next day it was too thick so next time I'd use about 4 1/2 cups. Also, it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I have rarely followed a recipe when making potato soup but thought I would try this one based on the addition of parmesan cheese & spices. I thought it was just OK and will make my own version next time. My daughter loved it, but my Mom & husband prefer my version. It honestly reminded me of the taste of dressing, probably because of the chicken broth & sage. Still, it was fun to try. Thanks for sharing, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This has the perfect flavor-i didnt have sage or bacon, and it is still awesome!!It came out perfect,and made me feel better when i was not feeling well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States