Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I didn't think the directions were very clear, so I wish I had done a few things different. Next time I will peel the potatoes and slightly mash them after boiling. I would add more parmesan (I only had 1/2 cup) because I loved the flavor it added, and I would add some bacon earlier on for the flavor it imparts. I added about 4 cups of milk, which was plenty, as other reviewers suggested. I didn't think it was too salty as written, like some reviewers thought. I kind of thought it tasted flour-y, so I tweaked the spices some more at the end. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Do not make this recipe as written. I used half the amount of milk called for and it was still too runny. I ended up adding an entire 5lb bag of (small size) potatos. Also, the bacon becomes soggy and yuck if you have leftovers for later. It tasted pretty good inspite of all of this. Not sure if I will make it again though. (I didn't use the sage btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Awesome indeed. Only added 3 cups milk because we like it heqartier but..... followed everything else to the letter! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Loved it - tasty, hearty & simple. Added some parsley & green onion for color :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
You guys aren't kidding! This is really delicious soup! I added chopped celery and garlic to the onions and only used 3 cups of milk. Such a gourmet tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was VERY popular around my table! Everyone had seconds. The parmesan cheese adds a nice snap to the normal taste - I'll prepare this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I didn't add celery salt or sage because I didn't have them, but the mixture of flavors in this soup is excellent! I used turkey bacon because I never buy the real stuff. I'm sure it would have had more flavor but I was trying to make this a little lighter. It was still jam packed with flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Easy to make, and very good! A godsend for a college student, too. I cut out all the salt, however, since the chicken broth I used was already salty enough by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My entire family (even my 4 year old) thought this was yummy. Change I made: Only used 4 cups of milk instead of 6. I also added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is really a great recipe. The only change I made was a little more Chicken broth (1 large 48 oz can) and I used pepper bacon. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States