Parmesan Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
used ham not bacon added frozen peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
love love love this soup!!! very easy al the different flavors compliment eachother i will def make this soup at least once or twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Love this recipe! Like all truly great soups, it is easy and forgiving. I took the suggestion of many reviewers and used more potatoes than called for. I used 7 medium potatoes. I sauteed chopped veggies (celery, carrot, and minced garlic) in the oil. I didn't add sage at all but used the other suggested spices. Once the potatoes were added into the soup, I used my potato masher to gently break up some of my potato cubes into smaller pieces. This also thickened my soup. It made a lot...about 8 to 10 hearty servings. it is rich and flavorful and my teenage boys and husband loved it...they all ate a double serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent as written. It makes a lot, as most soups do, so we had plenty of yummy left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This soup was wonderful... We had some left over and very few potatoes were left in it. I added some frozen hash browns to this and it was even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really pleased & my family loved it. I did cut back to 4 cups of chicken broth & 3 cups of milk & it was the perfect consistency for us. Next time I will add a couple more potatoes since I like mine chunky. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good flavors in this soup. I cut the broth and milk in half and used butter instead of margarine. I added bay leaf (remove before serving) and dill weed. Used only 6 slices bacon. Eliminated the celery salt and seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love it!Love it!Love it! This recipe is awesome just the way it is. However, I did do a few things different. Instead of using margarine, I sauteed onions, garlic, portabello mushrooms in the bacon grease. I also didn't bother with boiling my potatoes in a separate pot. I just added them to the sauteed veggies added my spices and chicken broth. Then followed the recipe from there. Also, if you want a little kick fresh green chili is awesome!Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this soup with a few changes. I used 6 good-sized red-skinned potatoes instead of 4 as several reviewers said there weren't enough potatoes. I added a couple ribs of celery, sliced, shortly before adding the cheese. I like my celery hot but still crunchy. The celery added a nice bit of color & a little more nutrition without substantially changing the basic recipe. The big change that I made was eliminating the chicken broth & using the potato cooking water instead. This makes the soup much more economical & there is a tremendous amount of potato flavor in the cooking water as well as lots of nutrition. In other potato soup recipes that I've tried I couldn't really taste the broth with all the seasonings, cheese & bacon or ham but it always seemed like something was missing. I found the missing ingredient when I made those recipes again using the potato water instead of broth. The soup was much better...true comfort food. I'd give the recipe 4 stars as written or 5 with my changes. This soup would probably be really good with ham & Cheddar cheese substituted for the bacon & Parmesan. I intend to find out. Thanks for the great recipe, Kristin. It's the best tater soup I ever tasted! I will be making this soup often. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Didn't have all the "salts." As others suggested, I put in more potatoes & only 1/2 the milk. Good, but next time, double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States