Parmesan Garlic Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a great little side dish that could go with virtually any meal. I used half the amount of garlic because my husband doesn’t like strong garlic flavor, and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
YUM! I used a bit more milk than called for b/c I wanted it creamier and less garlic just because I didn't want it to be too overpowering. This made a great side dish to our pork cutlets. I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Sorry everyone..that should be 2 teaspoons garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I made a few changes. I used about 1 Tblsp of dried parsley since I didn't have fresh. I added 1/3 cup parm cheese since we like it cheesy and when I boiled the orzo I added half a cup of chicken stock for flavor. At the end I zested a lemon and juiced half and added it. It came out amazing! :-) very happy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Would be willing to try again with fresh parsley but my family wasn't overly excited with this dish. My four year old said, "Mom, this isn't very good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Yum....this was very good...not that complicated of a recipe...pretty standard stuff, but still good and easy for those not familiar with cooking orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have to say, even with the two tablespoons, with the way it was prepared, again, with the herb and beer braised rabbit, it turned out fantastic. Good to know, though!!!:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla December

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I am really into garlic so used 3 cloves; didn't have any parsley so used freeze=dried oregano. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wow! Didn't realize how much buttery this really was for such small amount of orzo. Next time will make appropriate adjustments. ...kind of gross. Even my husband mentioned how much greasy this side dish tasted...and he LOVES butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a well-liked recipe in my home, even my two picky eaters (who've told me it tastes like mac & cheese) love this dish. I've made this recipe with both the 1/4 cup of butter, and with only 2 Tablespoons. Both are equally delicious, we just add more milk (1/4 cup up to 1/3 cup) if using less butter so that it doesn't stick together so much. Like another reviewer mentioned, I also add in more Parmesan (about 1/3 cup) because we love cheese! Be sure to use fresh Parmesan for this, the stuff that comes in a can just isn't the same quality! (And just a little time-saving tip - after buying a big wedge of Parmesan cheese, I bring it home and grate it all up and then freeze it. It won't freeze together, so you can just scoop out what you need. This way, you have fresh good-quality Parmesan with the convenience of canned.) While I definitely prefer the fresh ingredients, if I find myself in a time-crunch I will substitute 1/2 teaspoon of granulated garlic and 1 teaspoon of dried parsley with great results. Oh, and I also leave out most of the pepper, my girls wouldn't eat it otherwise! Great recipe, makes for a quick and delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States