Parmesan Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made some changes that brought this up to a five star rating! One, don't melt the butter, soften it. Then mix the other ingredients {I omitted the rosemary and left out the garlic salt in favor of additional garlic powder} in the with softened butter and spread on the bread. When you have only five minutes of baking time left, add a liberal amount of mozzarella cheese to the top. After five minutes it will be just melted and nice and gooey when you take it out of the oven! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
The flavor of the butter is absolutely delicious on the French bread. I will, however, omit the garlic salt next time as it is too salty. This recipe makes more than is needed for one loaf of bread (probably just the right amount for one and one-half to two loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and I used sandwich bread that needed to be used up. (Ghetto? Sure. But it works just as any other bread would.) Family thought this was very tasty. I did not have any, I just looked at it with longing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
My family loved this, didn't have a french loaf, just some "wonder" slice bread, slightly toasted the bread and then put spread on both sides and cook about 5 minutes longer then the recipe called for, let sit a couple of minutes it turned out great. Oh yeah the most important thing use unsalted butter, that way when you use the garlic salt it will not turn out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is the BEST garlic bread I've ever tasted!!!! The only changes that i made were to just soften the butter instead of melting it....it spread much easier, and i also added more parmesan on top before i baked it. I will definately used this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I thought that this recipe was great. I didn't have any garlic salt so I just used more garlic powder and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
I thought this was good, except it was too salty. Next time I would cut the garlic salt in half and add more garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I made this recipe last weekend for a dinner party. It was AWESOME! The one reviewer who said it didn't have the right combination of spices must have done something wrong, because this is the best and easiest garlic bread i've ever made! Also the recipe calls for 1/2 cup of butter which is one stick, not two as one reviewer said. The rosemary gives it it's unique flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, and added just a scant bit of freshly grated parmesan cheese on top. This is my new 'bread'! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Excellent garlic bread! I followed other advice and used no garlic salt all garlic powder and did not melt the butter - made it into a spread. However maybe my oven is different it's brand new - I heated it to 425 for 10 - 12 minutes for a great crispy garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great garlic bread. I recommend using more garlic powder (3/4 tsp.) and less garlic salt (1/2 tsp.). Otherwise good as stated. This way it will be more garlicky than it is salty which is how we like it. It was gobbled up at a recent bbq. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States