Parmesan Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was SO good, it's definitely 5 stars, but what a journey for me to get there! I don't have a bread machine, but still really wanted to try this recipe. So I proofed the yeast, then dumped everything else in and tried to knead it. (I'm kind of a novice at making bread...anyway). Well, it was waaaayyyy to much flour, and it turned into a hard, dense, un-kneadable mass. It was impossible to knead, and I realize I should have only put in part of the flour and then added more as I went along. I went along with it anyway, and set it in a bowl to rise. After 30 minutes and it hadn't risen at all, I decided to start completely over, because I really wanted this with dinner tonight. I chucked the first attempt, and started over. Proofed the yeast w/sugar and warm water for 10 minutes, then added the rest of indgredients except flour. I only added 3 cups of flour (including 1 cup of whole wheat) and it was a pleasure to knead. Soft, smooth, and pliable. I added more flour as I went along, maybe another cup altogether. (Didn't put in any lecithin...whatever that is!) It rose beautifully this time and tasted out of this world! We ate it with Rich and Creamy Tomato soup, and ate almost all of it! (I made the whole recipe and it made 2 8-inch round loaves, not one. But I was glad it made a lot!). I will make sure to write down my notes because I WILL be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very good, simple bread, especially for base of sandwich (Chicken Pesto Paninis comes to mind!). Didn't use lecithin. Made one 9" loaf. Oh, didn't sprinkle with parmesan since the pesto had plenty in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
My book club loved this bread! I baked it in the afternoon and served it with a Parmesan dipping oil that evening. The only change I made was a used about half the olive oil it suggested for pouring over the bread. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Mmmmm, delicious! Thanks to the earlier reviewer who said to add the flour slowly because this didn't take NEARLY what the recipe called for. Substituted 1 cup of flour for wheat flour and I DID use the lecithin. I proofed the yeast, mixed everything in my KitchenAid and kneaded it by hand. Still super easy and a relaxing thing to do on a lovely fall day. I got 2 9-inch cake pan loaves out of the recipe and it was totally enough. Not super-thick but good for sandwiches. Also I didn't add nearly as much oil on top of the bread as it called for and sprinkled Asiago cheese on top. 18 minutes was enough time in the oven for the thinner loaves. Crisp, flavorful and wonderful, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was sooooo good! I omitted the lecithin and added some garlic. I decided that the 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 parmesan cheese was to be used after the bread is formed on the cookie sheet, not added into the machine. Dipped in Italian butter..yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very good indeed. I halved the recipe and made in an 8" pan, left out the lecithin and didn't use bread machine at all. It looked very pretty too (see photo). Next time I make it though, I will decrease the amount of olive oil to make it healthier. This has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Wonderful recipe!!! I made this tonight for supper and served it with warmed up homemade pizza sauce. Yummy. Everyone in the family loved it. I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and doubled the recipe. I was able to fill three 9" cake pans, and one 9" square cake pan. I kind of pushed the dough around so that it filled the pan. I only used half the oil called for to pour over the loaves, and it was plenty. My kids thought that it reminded them of the crust on a Pizza Hut Pan Pizza. We'll be having this again and again!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Very easy, delicious recipe. My husband loved it and dipped it in a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I did add about 1/2 tsp. powdered garlic to the dough. I also used a well greased 9x13" pan since there was so much dough and it still made a nice thick focaccia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very nice bread. I made 4 loaves of it to make mini sandwiches for my husband's birthday party. I used different herb/spice combinations in each one and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Just like everyone said, super delicious. I left mine in the oven for 25 minutes as someone suggested, and the crust came out brown, crispy and delicious. Will definintely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States