Parmesan Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was SO good, it's definitely 5 stars, but what a journey for me to get there! I don't have a bread machine, but still really wanted to try this recipe. So I proofed the yeast, then dumped everything else in and tried to knead it. (I'm kind of a novice at making bread...anyway). Well, it was waaaayyyy to much flour, and it turned into a hard, dense, un-kneadable mass. It was impossible to knead, and I realize I should have only put in part of the flour and then added more as I went along. I went along with it anyway, and set it in a bowl to rise. After 30 minutes and it hadn't risen at all, I decided to start completely over, because I really wanted this with dinner tonight. I chucked the first attempt, and started over. Proofed the yeast w/sugar and warm water for 10 minutes, then added the rest of indgredients except flour. I only added 3 cups of flour (including 1 cup of whole wheat) and it was a pleasure to knead. Soft, smooth, and pliable. I added more flour as I went along, maybe another cup altogether. (Didn't put in any lecithin...whatever that is!) It rose beautifully this time and tasted out of this world! We ate it with Rich and Creamy Tomato soup, and ate almost all of it! (I made the whole recipe and it made 2 8-inch round loaves, not one. But I was glad it made a lot!). I will make sure to write down my notes because I WILL be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I really enjoyed this alot. It reminds of the pizza bread they serve at a local restaurant called the Italian Bistro. If you chop a fresh tomato and saute it in olive oil with fresh garlic and some salt, then spread that on top before baking, it would be identical. The first time I made it, I baked it for 20 minutes and the top was definitely golden, but the center was still doughy. The second time I baked it for 25 minutes instead and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I have made this twice in the past two days...my husband loves it! Perfect...it's not hard to make either....love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very good indeed. I halved the recipe and made in an 8" pan, left out the lecithin and didn't use bread machine at all. It looked very pretty too (see photo). Next time I make it though, I will decrease the amount of olive oil to make it healthier. This has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I really liked this bread. I even modified it by adding chopped tomatoes, black olives, roasted red peppers and a little bit of chopped onion to the top for extra flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was sooooo good! I omitted the lecithin and added some garlic. I decided that the 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 parmesan cheese was to be used after the bread is formed on the cookie sheet, not added into the machine. Dipped in Italian butter..yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2000
My husband LOVED this bread...he actually said that I should make it ANY time we were going to have company...make sure you use the traditional "italian butter" (olive oil with fresh ground pepper in a dish for dipping) to enhance it even more ;) (note, i did sprinkle pretzel salt over the top prior to baking the second loaf...we are salt-a-holics)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
This recipe IS a husband pleaser! We both love it, as did my weight watching neighbor who begged me not to give her any more of it (for a while). Great texture and flavor and it kept well too. This is definitely a "keeper". Thanks Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This is very good bread. It made much more than one 8" round pan full. In fact, I made two pans full! I could not find lecithin, so I left it out. I added garlic to the topping. My family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very good, simple bread, especially for base of sandwich (Chicken Pesto Paninis comes to mind!). Didn't use lecithin. Made one 9" loaf. Oh, didn't sprinkle with parmesan since the pesto had plenty in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States