Parmesan Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this last night and it was delicious! I did not have any lecithin, but I saw on another site where oil can substitute for the lecithin so I added a half teaspoon of olive oil to the liquid. I also added a teaspoon of minced fresh garlic to the olive oil that is drizzled on top before baking. I halved the recipe and made one round loaf. When it was done, I cut into four sections and cut each in half horizontally and used them as the "buns" for my italian burgers, which are nothing more than seasoned beef patties pan fried, with spaghetti sauce poured on top and then mozzarella and heated through. The focaccia "buns" made the sandwiches something really special. Me and my husband thoroughly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
add 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder to dough. Add fresh minced garlic to oil before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this recipe except I did not add the lecithin and made it by hand rather than dig out the bread machine. I did mix one clove of crushed garlic into the dough and I decreased the oil drizzled on top significantly - at least by half. After reading the reviews I baked this in two 9" cake pans and it came out beautifully. I served it with Italian butter for our lasagna dinner and everyone loved it. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I found I had to decrease the flour to 4 cups but this may have to do with the flour I was using. This tastes and smells even better than the store bought equivalent. The second one I did I added jalapeño chilli and brushed the top with chilli and olive oil. We do like hot and spicy,as does our local doctor he is due at the house today so I have made him one too. Once again thanks for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this with frozen bread dough(yes,I cheated). I added fresh garlic and then put the parmesian on top of that with an extra drizzle of olive oil. I used olive oil and balsamic vinegar as my dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwayscdn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe turned out beautifully. It was delicious, crispy, soft on the inside...I omitted the lechitin, as well as I topped mine with a good helping of sharp chaddar cheese, parmesan and italian herb medley...broiled it so that the cheese was nice and browned...delicious! I found that a half recipe made the perfect size loaf for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Mmmmm, delicious! Thanks to the earlier reviewer who said to add the flour slowly because this didn't take NEARLY what the recipe called for. Substituted 1 cup of flour for wheat flour and I DID use the lecithin. I proofed the yeast, mixed everything in my KitchenAid and kneaded it by hand. Still super easy and a relaxing thing to do on a lovely fall day. I got 2 9-inch cake pan loaves out of the recipe and it was totally enough. Not super-thick but good for sandwiches. Also I didn't add nearly as much oil on top of the bread as it called for and sprinkled Asiago cheese on top. 18 minutes was enough time in the oven for the thinner loaves. Crisp, flavorful and wonderful, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Just like everyone said, super delicious. I left mine in the oven for 25 minutes as someone suggested, and the crust came out brown, crispy and delicious. Will definintely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
My book club loved this bread! I baked it in the afternoon and served it with a Parmesan dipping oil that evening. The only change I made was a used about half the olive oil it suggested for pouring over the bread. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very nice bread. I made 4 loaves of it to make mini sandwiches for my husband's birthday party. I used different herb/spice combinations in each one and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States