Parmesan Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made the recipe as directed and counted off 1 star because we didn't care for the heavy layer of olive oil. Otherwise, this is a great bread dough recipe. It is similar to my own which I have used for years. The only difference is I use 1-1/2 cups of water and instead of pouring 1/3 cup of olive oil over it before baking, I add about 1 T of olive oil to a bowl and add the dough when it is done with it's first rise in the bread machine. I coat the dough in the oil before forming into a ball and laying it out to bake. Then I sprinkle on the Parmesan. This dough also makes wonderful breadstix (shorten baking time). I vary the herbs and almost always add garlic salt and 2-4 T of Parmesan cheese to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
***** Wow, how good! Easy to make. Although I read about all the other reviews and the oil spilling over into the oven so I just brushed on the oil without pouring it all over. Will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This bread turned out really well, nice seasoning and the parmesan is a great accent. I did a half of this recipe and it was still a good size loaf. I will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
made for dinner last night, and breakfast toast this morn. GREAT. mixed dough in bread machine, added grated parm/romano in mix. rose nicely in the machine, and would have kneaded more flour in but hands were sticky. two 8" loaves seems more likely to be the texture i wanted. like the idea of kosher salt on top, also want to try an olive tappanade (sp?). will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is some delicious bread!! I made it by hand and left out the lecithin(have no idea what it is) and it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars but using the amount of olive oil given in the recipe about smoked us out of the house. When the bread rises a lot of the 1/3 cup of olive oil ends up in the bottom of your oven and smokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I cut the recipe in half, and used one round cake pan and it was still quite thick. I cut it into slices, and then opened each slice up, added butter and heated them in the oven. Served it with pasta, and my 4 year old liked the bread so much she wanted to take it in her lunch the next day! I think next time I will add parm to the dough as well as the top. NOTE: flour amount given is way too much. I used less than called for, and still had to add water and olive oil to my bread machine as it was kneading the dough, as it started out crumbly, even with an already reduced amount. I ended up standing next to the machine with a cup of warm water and a measuring spoon through the whole first knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe is really really good! I didn't use a bread machine and I used rosemary instead of oregano, sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I too made 2 loaves and added a sprinkle of garlic salt on top with the parmesan cheese before baking. We dipped our bread in an olive oil/parmesan cheese/salt dip and it was delightful. My kids (1yo and 3yo) couldn't get enough. I heart focaccia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Oh my it smells so good when it's baking. We used garlic butter from this site on it and all I could hear is mmmmm while we were eating it, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States