Parmesan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Nice. Need to try this again when I have enough parmesan. Tasted this before adding one third of the parm called for (all I had), and it wasn't something I would want to eat. However, after putting in the parm, about 1/2 C feta, and 3/4'sh C of sour cream, it was a nice soup. We have some free creamed corn coming our way, so it is nice to have another recipe to use the corn in! Thanks so much. After trying it as written, I wouldn't be surprised if this isn't a long term keeper, and not just something to use up freebies...... Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was really good for not having any cream in it! It does need some seasonings though. I added some garlic, thyme, and a large pinch of cumin. I also added chopped red bell pepper and it gave it a nice bit of added flavor. This does make about 7 side-dish servings, but the serving size listed in the recipe surely isn't intending for this to be a main course of that size. We got about decent-sized bowls out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was really good! I shredded my carrots and cut the celery small, so that it would be done when the potatoes were. I used chicken broth in place of the water, added in some garlic w/ the veggies that I briefly sauteed in a little evoo, and also added in a can of whole corn. IMO, this needs LOTS of salt and pepper. This is a tasy soup that I would make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Good but not enough flavor. I added chicken bouillon but you could try chicken broth instead of water. This turned out very thick. I added more water a few times in cooking process. My husband loved it and I thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wonderful and easy to make. Used coconut milk because that's all I had. Simply delicious. We had soup day so we could all enjoy the football games and no one was stuck in the kitchen. Made boilermaker chili, Catheryne's Spicy Chicken soup, Parmesan Corn Chowder and Bread Bowls. What a feast. EVERTHING was outstanding. Tasted even better the next day. Allrecipes.com rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This chowder is thick, creamy, and---best of all--- easy to make, and delicous! A true comfort food. I garnished w/ crumbled bacon (some chopped green onion would look nice, too). Really, no changes are needed to the recipe itself. I was trying to copy a corn chowder from a local restaurant, and I actually think this recipe beat it, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
We loved this recipe, very good! We did take the suggestion of others and add cumin and thyme as well as made a double batch. We also added a fresh jalepeno for some spice, and 2 extra cans of niblet corn along with the creamed corn. Enjoy! We will definately make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great soup for a cold day. I add a few chunks of ham when a little different taste. I used frozen corn as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We love this soup! I make it probably about once every other week. I do alter it a bit for our lifestyle which is vegetarian. So, I follow step one and then puree when cooked. I then add another chopped potato (sometimes I cook the potatoes separate, puree 1/2 and then add the other 1/2 after) for texture preferences of my husband. I omit the butter and follow step two. In addition to the remaining ingredients, I add 1 C of puree Canniolli Beans (sorry about the spelling! They are a type of white beans) to the mixture. You can't taste them and thickens it and gives us the needed protein we lack in our diet. Thank you for an incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Easy to make and received so many compliments on this soup. I added an additional can of corn (not creamed) to give it more base! This freezes well and tastes just as good as the day you made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States