Parmesan Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I thought this was absolutely amazing. I did, however, take a few of the suggestions on here. First, I mixed a little garlic powder and adobo to the Parmesan cheese. I also added a small amount of bread crumbs to give it a little more body. Second...instead of soaking the chicken in salt water to reduce blood that would come out during baking, I decided to par boil them in salt water, cutting down coking time in half, and making the chicken super moist. And I dredged them in flour before I soaked them in the egg and Parmesan cheese, so the coating would stick better. I baked at 400 for only about 25 - 30 minutes, because the chicken was already cooked for the most part, all I needed was the parmesan to darken. The result was absolutely amazing, the Parmesan cheese really came out, and my fiance couldn't believe how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
in response to the person who did not like the blood coming out of the chicken. Soak the chicken in 1/4 cup of salt for at least an hour, it will draw out the blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I am eating a piece of this piping hot chicken as I type this and it is DELICIOUS!!! I work until 11 PM and I was looking for something quick and easy to make this morning for my family to have for dinner and I found this. It is a wonderful recipes. I did make a couple of changes: I also used seasoned breadcrumbs with the Parmesan cheese. I discovered I was out of eggs so I simply coated the chicken in milk and then dredged in the cheese mix. I also added garlic powder and oregano to the cheese mix. These drumsticks came out moist and juice on the inside and cripsy, crunchy on the outside. I thought I would need to cover the pan with foil, but I just kept an eye on them and they browned perfectly!! Very good Anika! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMFORTKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Like everything I prepare, I tweaked it a little by adding some garlic powder, onion powder and some flour with the Parmesan cheese. When I bread chicken I usually don't roll it in a prepared dish of ingredients, I put it all in a ziploc bag and shake it untill the chicken is coated. It tasted really good and it was super easy to make with readily available ingredients from my kitchen. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Made this dish for my children who loved it! The above review is correct: it does make your kitchen smell wonderful! NOTE: I used 2 parts cheese and 1 part seasoned bread crumbs... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Awesome recipe! Made a few slight changes...added a bit of milk and a lil salt and pepper to the egg and used the full 2 cups of parmesan but added about 1/2cup bread crumbs and seasoned as suggested in the other reviews with garlic and onion powder. Haven't had much luck with chicken legs in the past but this one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Very simple and easy to make. My 2 yr old devoured it. Since Parmesan is already salty I had reduced the salt amount. Next time I'll omit the salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
My kids hated this. My husband said it was "OK." The drumsticks were goopy in the baking pan, and the bottom of the chicken was soggy. I'm going to try it again with chicken breasts on an elevated baking rack (so that the chicken doesn't sit in its own fat while baking). Also, my drumsticks were pretty large, and they required extra cooking time. Perhaps, that was part of the problem. I think the taste was good, but the texture and look of the chicken really turned my family off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good recipe, I used thighs and added oregano for a little more flavor because some reviews said that it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good recipe! But as is I thought it was a bit bland, so I added some garlic powder and red pepper flakes to the Parmesan mixture for a little extra kick. I also added some Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs for a little extra crispiness. Also, I noticed that after the drumsticks came out the oven, 1) They stuck pretty badly to my baking sheet, and 2) There was dried blood stuck to the ends of the chicken. The first issue was easy to fix, I just spray my baking sheet liberally with cooking spray, but it took some research to figure out the 2nd issue. Finally I tried boiling the drumsticks for 20 min before coating and baking them. The drumsticks came out looking so much better- No icky dried blood! And it cut down on cooking time by about 20 minutes which was nice. This is definitely a great base recipe for you to play around with to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States