Parmesan Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this for the family yesterday and OMGosh ,It turned out wonderful they ate every bit of it. I made some adjustments of my own and followed some advise of others. I used frozen boneless skinless breast (no time to thaw), brown rice(all I had), garlic powder about 1 TBSP. I cooked it low for the 8 hrs. The chicken was so tender you could it with a spoon. I was impressed with the rice usually brown rice is a "tough" rice but this was more like the white rice the entire meal was yummy. If it can get my picky eater to eat I am happy. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Like most other comments, mine turned out with both soggy and crunchy rice, and dry chicken. I make all kinds of chicken and rice recipes but this is not one I will repeat. It was too salty, the onion soup taste was to strong and the overall color was not pretty. It was eatible but that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Keeler Bohling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Not the prettiest dish, but a fantastic flavor! I liked how well the chicken absorbed the flavors. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe is from Crockpot called Velvet Chicken with Mushroom Wine sauce. The only reason I know that is because I bought my brother a crockpot for Christmas last year and this recipe was on the box. The submitter didn't include the 1/2 cup of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYDELPHINIUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I really think this needs to be made without the rice. As the rice absorbs the liquid, it dries out the chicken. The flavor is very good. Just don't cook it on high or for more than 6 hours. I served mine with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is the same recipe my grandmother showed me how to make 30 years ago. only if you don't cqare for rice you can make it in fifteen minuts on the stove top. just cut the chicken into cubes, cook in two tablespoons of oil until done, add a can of mushrooms, your same soup mix cook about five minutes on high, top with the cheese of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
While I haven't tried this particular approach yet, I have, over the years made this same recipe in the oven. One of the single most important factors in having this dish come out well is not to let your moisture escape, either by lifting the lid of your crock, or lifting the foil in the oven. Often times, it interferes with the absorbency of the rice but also altering the heat factor. I found that warming the liquids made a big difference, but also the slower cooking time on low. I can't wait to try this in the crock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyRoseDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
After reading countless reviews, I decided to stick with the original just to see how my family would rate this. I used regular white rice and cream of chicken soup because that's what I had on hand. My picky dh and dk's (15, 13, 5) gobbled it up! The only criticism I would have is that there was not enough rice to cover for the starch course of the meal for the teenagers. We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Not sure why this is called Parmesan Chicken, it doesn't taste like Parmesan at all. I left mine in the slow cooker while I was at work, the chicken was WAY overdone. I can't seem to find converted rice, so I decided to cook that on the stove separately. Instead of plain rice, I used liquid from the slow-cooker in place of half the water. I reeeally liked the rice, but my boyfriend wasn't thrilled. Probably won't make this again, and *definitely* won't cook it for 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My family really liked this one. It is a keeper. I have a few mushroom haters, so I use cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States