Parmesan Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I cooked as instructed, except I did not add the rice to the crockpot, as per other rreviewers complaint of mushiness. After chicken cooked in sauce, I shredded it/cut into chunks. I did parmesean into the sauce (1 cup), then also parmesean at the end. Served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This dish cooked very quickly! 4.5 hours on LOW. I used breast strips (didn't realize they were strips when I bought the meat), and couldn't find "converted" rice, so I made that separately. I also used more butter than the recipe calls for. This was very salty, though. Next time, I will use low-sodium cream of mushroom and 1/2 the onion soup mix. Cooking the rice with the rest of the dish probably helps to absorb some of that salt. However, this was very filling, and I think I'm going to end up freezing some of it for an easy dinner next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is what I'd call comfort food. It's a good flavor without a lot of spices. It was very moist. I don't like mushrooms so I used cream of chicken soup. The only change I'd make the next time will be to cut the chicken pieces into large chunks (maybe 1/3 or 1/2 breast) to make it easier when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Kind of bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good, reliable crock pot dinner. I normally hate chicken in the crock pot, bc it's usually very dry and never has a great flavor. This recipe has a great parmesan flavor. The chicken was really moist and although the rice was a tad too mushy, the flavor made up for it. Based on other reviews, I made some of my own changes that worked out pretty well- I used 4 chicken breasts and only about 4 tbsp. of butter. I also mixed the "sauce" without adding the rice to it, and poured half over the chicken, sprinkling the top with a little grated parm. I mixed the rice with the remaining amount of sauce and set aside. I put the timer on for 2 hours (cooking on low), and then added the sauce/rice mixture & cooked for another 2 hours on low. I also reserved 1/4 cup fresh shredded parm to sprinkle on top for the last 2 hours. I would recommend not adding the rice until the last hour or half hour... I think it would be perfectly cooked that way and still taste good. Overall, though, an excellent, easy dinner. Oh, and I just used whatever long grain rice I had in the cabinet and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was really boring even after adding seasoning the chicken with onion and garlic powder. I also added salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese and it was still boring. We put a little ketchup on it just to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUEDEMAIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is delicious. I used a lot more water because of earlier reviews stating too salty. It only took 2 hours on my crock pot, I can't imagine why anyone would let this cook for 8 hours and then be surprised when the pot is burned and the rice is mush. The onion soup set it off, oh I love it. The shredded parmesan is nice and I used Tyson ready grilled chicken breats and cut them into cubes... Overall, very yummy and satisfying. I also used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyisSweet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Not bad with some additions. Sprayed the crock with Pam. I put garlic powder, black pepper, and some dried mixed sweet pepper flake directly on the chicken. Sprinkled the onion soup mix on top of that, added brown rice, mixed the mushroom soup and milk together and poured on top. Cooked on low for about 7 hours. Shortly before serving I stirred in 8 oz of sour cream. I did not add the parmesan to the pot, but rather topped the dish with the cheese on the serving plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Wow..let me just say I was very pleasently suprised by this dish.So easy to make and so delicious!I reduced the recipe for just 3 chicken breast (its just me and my husband) and I cooked it in the oven in a glass baking dish covered in reynolds wrap on 250 degrees for 5 hours.So tender and very flavorful.Have to agree it is not a very eye pleasing dish but it is good.Thanks for the simple great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
pretty foolproof recipe. I used bone-in breasts, and cooked for 9 hours; done and almost too dry at that point, at the smaller ends of the breasts . . . to be expected, I guess. Plenty of good sauce to go along with bread, which we have, even though there is rice in the recipe! Like another reviewer suggested, I put 1/2 cup rice into the bottom of the greased crock pot, then the chicken, butter, soup mixture with another half cup of rice included. Like I said, plenty of sauce even including much more rice than the recipe called for. A good weeknight easy-to-fix recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States