Parmesan Cheese Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is the easiest recipe ever and the results are delicious! Here are my changes and substitutions: I didn't have any parsley, so I substituted French thyme. I also experimented with different toppings once the twists were on the cookie sheet and glazed with egg white. I sprinkled some with sesame seeds, some with poppy seeds and some with garlic salt. And some with a combination. Our favorite was with the sesame seeds with a pinch of garlic salt. I also experimented with the size of the twists, and truthfully, all were delightful! Perhaps the largest ones were a tad doughy, but still quite good. One extra note - we didn't care for these once they cooled off, they became somewhat flaccid. But a quick pop into the toaster oven (less than one cycle through on medium "toast") made them even crunchier and we actually preferred them reheated. Next time I make these, I will make them an hour or so before my guests arrive and then re-toast them before serving. That should buy me some time to make the main course. Thanks for posting this recipe - it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Pretty, delicious, light and flaky. I liked the addition of the oregano, which adds great flavor, although any number of herbs or spices would be very good. I also added garlic powder, which seemed a natural for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe saved me! I needed something quick and yummy for a Christmas party. I had puff pastry on hand and all the other ingredients. I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the cheese mixture simply because I love garlic. They were a hit with my family...especially all the little ones. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
We LOVE these!!! I didn't know that this recipe was on AR (I first tried them after reading the little recipe card that came in the puff pastry box.) So, I was glad to see it here so I could review them...really - try these (and make no changes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
So buttery and crisp and cheesy. I used a mix of smoked gouda and parmesan and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Love these. When you have the little extra time to prepare them, they are great to make with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was my first experience with puff pastry. These were delicious and very simple to make. I made them ahead and froze them as suggested. I did have to extend the baking time a bit, but just watched until they were golden brown. Thanks for a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Yummy! Always a favorite at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Loved it! I modified recipe a little- added 1/8 cup of shredded cheddar and mozarella mix plus fresh herbs I had left from Thanksgiving, rosemary and thyme, garlic powder. The result is delicious. Going to make them for Christmas as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very good. I made one batch as the recipe stated. For the second batch instead of using the cheese, I used cinnamon and sugar. Did everything else the same. Wow, great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States