Parmesan Baskets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fixes for when I messed up: I didn't have parchment, so I just used the cookie sheet. Turned out OK. Oily, but OK. When I tried to move them from the pan to the molds (I was using an upside-down mini muffin pan), I realized I'd waited too long and they were no longer pliable. So, I just tossed the muffin pan in the oven with the flatish cheese on top. The melted right over after about a minute. I really liked the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I love these! I've often made them as crisps for salad garnishes, but never thought of forming them into a basket. I used them to hold Parmesan Spinach Balls as an appetizer at a dinner party last night and the presentation received rave reviews! 2" makes a SMALL bowl, FYI; the only thing I could drape them over was shot glasses! I will make larger circles time. THANKS for a great recipe, Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made these as round crisps to use as garnish on salad, so I left them flat after cooking. It was a night for Spanish tapas, so I used manchego cheese instead of parmesan (slightly softer and larger chunks when grated). The recipes I found here and elsewhere didn't mention how thick to leave the cheese when putting it on the cookie sheet. However...after spooning it out, it was pretty obvious. I did one alone on a sheet as a test and that turned out to be an important step, since I changed my technique when I did the real ones. (Plus the chef needs a snack, right?) I did three at a time on the cookie sheet. Because manchego is a softer cheese, there was more oil/moisture on the sheet and I didn't want a mess in the oven. They needed 8-10 minutes to get browned and crispy. They were quite soft and shapable when I took them out of the oven, but I put them on parchment paper on a cookie rack to cool. Once they were firm enough to pick up by hand, I removed the paper so they would dry out completely. Delicious, crispy, and a great addition to the salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were fun to make. I remember in a restaurant making just small circles for I think salad. But, I wanted to try the bowl idea. I thought a 2" circle sounded kind of small. So, I used a piece of parchment and drew circles with a large coffee cup that was 3 1/2 inches. I flipped it over and spread the parmesan in the circles. Mine were kind of big, so they had to bake 8 minutes to get lightly browned. Once out of the oven I cooled for about 3 or 4 minutes or until they would loosen from the parchment. I then draped them over empty plastic fruit/applesauce cups I had saved. They held there shape nicely once they cooled. I thought a filling might be good for an oderb. But, I made mine kind of big, so they might work for something like a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Another great way to serve parmesan. Try grating on top red and green peppercorns - not too fine, not too coarse - just before baking the parmesan. The flavors blend very well and they look like freckles. I make mine tiny - 1 inch - when I want to serve them flat for scooping vegetable dips like eggplant caviar. Raw sesame seeds sprinkled before baking blend very well too. Don't use toasted sesame - it will burn and will affect the taste. Thanks for posting the basket version. I had never thought of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
so easy, but such a show stopper - I filled with a spinach strawberry salad with red onion, one crouton, rapspberry vinagrette and topped it with candied almond chunks! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
What a great idea!!! These are fun, whimsical, and cute ;) I filled mine with finely chopped arugula, chopped tomato, chopped radishes, crumbled bacon and drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
So easy and yummy! These make for a great presentation! I used asiago and they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Simple recipe. I did mine in an 8 inch non stick pan. Only recommendation I can give is don't make them so thick. I think I did mine too thick. Although it worked, formed into basket shape, they weren't crispy by the time dinner came along. I think that was because they were too thick. If I'm wrong let me know. Going to try again but next time not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These make really great appetizer cups! I used a mini muffin tin to drape small rounds. After cooled,I filled with a chopped caprese salad(tomato, basil, mozz chopped fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States