Parker's Famous Margaritas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Finally, an AUTHENTIC margarita recipe. If you think margarita mix or frozen limeade + tequila is yummy, or you like "blended" margaritas, this might be more than you bargained for. If you like margaritas the way God intended them (on the rocks, with salt, made from scratch) you can't do better than this. Using fresh limes means you might taste some differences from batch to batch. Too sour? Add a dash more triple sec. If you don't have any Rose's Lime Juice you can just skip the "sweetened lime juice" part. I often make them with just 5 parts tequila, 4 parts triple sec, and 3 parts FRESH lime juice and they are fine. Just keep in mind, this is a serious cocktail for people with grownup palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was wonderful. For anyone who isn't armed with knowledge of Tequila. Try using Sauza Hornitos or El Tesoro. Cuervo is a no-no. Mexicans won't touch the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Best margarita I have ever personally made....I HIGHLY recommend. The secret is definitely in the fresh lime juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
If you're lookin' for "Knock You On Your Tail" Margaritas - Here ya go!! We used silver Petron (TALK ABOUT SMOOTH TEQUILA!). Which I would recommend, but don't be heavy handed - take the time to measure out the ounces. (I made the foolish mistake of letting the husband prepare the second round...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm a big fan of fresh lime juice margaritas (I despise sour mix!!) but these were a little too strong and too tart for me. I added some sugar and that helped out a lot. VERY strong as written, but on the plus side, they were good for sipping as they still had kick even as the ice melted and they watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We really liked this, but after the first batch, we cut the tequila down to 4 ounces - they were just a tad too strong as written (and we like to drink!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These were not bad, but not the best I've had. I think its better to just stick with fresh limes and skip the sweetened lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
These were a big hit!!! I made jugs of them and used Raspberry Cordial instead of sweetened lime juice to make Pink Margaritas. Also made them in a blender with ice so I could make a larger amount in one go. Thanks for the fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made this recipe for cinco de mayo and they were a hit. They taste just like the margaritas served in authentic mexican restaurants. I didn't have time to squeeze fresh lime juice, so I bought a bottle of the pre squeezed and they were still excellent. This recipe is going into my family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe! I'm not a fan of overly sweet drinks, and found this the perfect combination. Tart and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States