Pareve Corn Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is not what I had in mind when I read 'kugel'... This mushy mess cooked a lot longer than an hour - mostly because I was worried that it wasn't done; it was very watery. I didn't serve warm because I was afraid the whole thing would fall apart. The flavor was okay and my guests ate it - to my great surprise - but I thought it was just kind of a waste of craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was very good, would definitely make it again if I was in the mood. The cranberries added a lot in terms of color and flavor, I would maybe add more next time. It is a very thin kugel, but I am afraid that it would be too custardy if I baked in a smaller dish. It was excellent as is, although I did keep it warm for about 1.5 hrs in a 225 degree oven after it was baked, so that might have helped it firm up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this for Shabbat dinner without the cranberries and substituted fresh white corn for the canned white corn, and soy milk for the creamer. Baked it until it was set, approximately 1 hour. While I liked it well enough it was a little more "custard-like" than I would have preferred. My family/guests didn't care for the taste or texture, saying it was too mushy for their preferences. Everyone thought the dish smelled fantastic! I think if I try this again I would cut way back on the milk/creamer to obtain a more "cake-like" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for a Chanukah celebration and it received rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. It was super easy to make and perfect to take to a potluck. You might want to make it a double batch as one will not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! Although I fully intended to add the cranberries, I forgot to do so. I did not have any non-dairy creamer so used 1% milk. I also did not add any salt since salt was already in the canned corns. Next time I hope to make the recipe "as is!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
We absolutely love this. It's going to become a staple at our Shabbat dinners! The cranberries add a nice touch for the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was really good. I made it for my family on Passover, and everyone loved it! I've gotten several requests for it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving. It was really delicious and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My mom said it best. "If Dad went for seconds...it has to be good!" I served this as an alternative to a traditional noodle kugel for Kol Nidre dinner. The cranberries were a nice complement to the fall holiday table. It was very easy to prepare. I didn't have a pan larger than 9x13, so I cooked it in a 8x11 and placed in a 9x13 dish for the bath. I already plan to make it for Thanksgiving and I've been asked to forward the recipe to my mom who plans to serve it for an up-coming dinner party. This will definitely become a part of my cooking repitoire. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Epstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States