Paradise Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Eh. The recipe was not accurate and didnt warn you to chill the cheesecake before adding the pumpkin pie or else it would not come out even or that there is too much pumpkin. It didnt taste like a cheesecake to me. It was very quick and easy. I would make it again with many alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I havent baked in a while as I'm diabetic, and I've never really been a fan of Pumpkin pie, but I saw this recipe and gave it a shot. To begin with, I was using a deep dish 9 in plate and thought that it might need more than the recipe called for. I did move up the servings to 10, made my own graham cracker crust and that was the perfect ratio to go to. Now a few changes... I did not use real eggs, preferring to use EggBeaters instead. I did use Splenda instead of sugar and I used Smart Balance for the pecan topping, but used butter for the cheese layer and I did cut back on the Splenda for the pumpkin section as I had read that some reviewers had said the pumpkin was too sweet, so I cut it back by a quarter. I also adjusted the time to 75 minutes rather than the recommended 65 mins. All in all, I think it came out fantastic. One other thing I did was when I did the broil of the topping I just took out the rack on my double oven as the top oven is not that tall to get the pie 5 inches from the broiler and placed the pie on the floor of the top oven. It worked out fabulously and it did take three minutes on the dot in the broiler... I watched it every second it was in there through the window not wanting to have all my work ruined by this critical step. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarefootMom
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good! The only thing I do different is add 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin Pie spice in place of the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg-which is essentially the same thing. Also I use salted butter and leave out the pinch of salt. I only needed to broil for a lil over a minute. Also cover the edge of your pie crust with either foil or a protector because it will burn. Also wanted to add that if you don't have the evaporated milk- you can use sweetened condensed milk and leave out the sugar in the pumpkin layer. Very good pie, always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was one of the best pumpkin pies that I have ever made! I will be making this a Thanksgiving "must have" from now on. My hubby loved it! I followed the recipe exactly (which I seldom do!) and as others have stated, there is a lot of pumpkin filling, so I just didn't use it all. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made this as a custard rather than the pie crust and it was a hit. The cream cheese and pumpkin marbled; I tried to layer it, but was not successful. The recipe was delicious and I will make it again. I did use more spices and if you like sweet custard, firmly pack the brown sugar and add a bit more white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I love this recipe. I've made is several times and always get praise. I don't really change very much, except I alsdo add 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and I finely chop the pecans (I think this makes the top layer ever better). The pumpkin part is too much to fill the pie shell, so I usually fill two small ramakins with whats left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I liked this pie. Looks very nice when finished. The amount of filling requires a deep dish pie pan. For the pumpkin layer, I scalded milk on the stove and spiced the milk (to infuse the spice) instead of using evaporated milk. Then I added the eggs to the milk and made a light custard before adding the pumpkin. For the cream cheese layer, I whipped the cheese with lots of sugar and then folded in the beaten egg (whipping the egg with the cheese can overdue the egg). I poured the cream cheese into the pan crust and let the cheese layer set a little before adding the pumpkin layer. Since the pie is so thick, I needed to tent the top with foil near the end of the bake (to get the filling to bake completely without cracking/burning the top). For the topping, I creamed the butter with the sugar and added some maple syrup for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Our pumpkin pie turned out white but it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Lots of work for a product that was not as good as plain pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This the best pumpkin pie recipe out there! Make it every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States