Paradise Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Very good. The cream cheese layer was a pleasant surprise to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
i really loved this recipe because it was fun and easy to make. i have already made it about 6 times. everyone loves to eat it, i also had alot of people ask for the recipe! i ( well you) got a lot of compliments. thank you very much. i am going to make it again today, for new years day.p.s. you have a great name for it, (paradise) i guess alot of people are attracted to it, especially when i live in hawaii. -alyssa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe has been a favorite of our family's for years. I was able to make two pies out of this recipe. I drizzled the maple syrup on top and also sprinkled crushed pecans on top! This is by far the best pumpkin pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really tasty and easy to make. I don't know if I did something wrong, but my bottom layer didn't stay on the bottom when I poured in the pumpkin filling. It pushed to the sides and bottom. I took a toothpick and swirled the colors together around the edges for a nice design and it looked great. It did make enough for two pies, I wish I had read the first review before I made it! I will make this pie again, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is one great pumpkin pie and very easy to make! I used a graham cracker/chopped pecan crust (see Carolyn Rothwell's Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie in this section) and it was great. Might just be my oven, but it took less than an hour to bake -- more like 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Everything turned out well until I had to pour the pumpkin mix in the pie shell. It mixed in with the cheesecake layer, therefore it didnt have the layered look and taste to it. Overall, I got good compliments on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERPARK253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have to admit I was disappointed. Not sure what I had expected, but this pie was nothing out of the ordinary - just some pumpkin pie atop cheesecake. Barely a quarter was eaten. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I have made this pie for over 20 years when a neighbor made one. It has alway been a famil request. The trick to keeping the layered look is to pour the pumpkin mixture over the back of a large spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This type of pie has been a Thanksgiving staple in our family for many years. If you love pumpkin pie & cheesecake, like we do, you've got the best of both worlds in this recipe. A few hints to those who have had problems with this recipe. Make the pie in 2 steps, after putting the cream cheese layer in the shell, refrig. until you've mixed the pumpkin layer, it will firm up slightly, & lessen the chance of the layers mixing. Also, if you have the problem of the layers inverting, which our family has experienced in the past, we've figured out a definite culprit. DO NOT USE PUMPKIN PIE MIX IN THIS RECIPE. This is the canned pumpkin with spice already added to it, it will definitely flip-flop your layers! Try a slice with a dollop of whipped cream for that bit of extra sweetness! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was really easy to make. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cloves and 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I also put 2 teaspoons of nutmeg and just poured the maple syrup into the pumpikin batter. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and doubled the vanilla (can never have too much vanilla!, what can I say southern families make everything spicier!) I did wait about 20 minutes before pouring the pumpkin onto the cream cheese it was well set by then. I used my cast iron pan for the pie and it came out lovely! Thanks for the recipe! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boolicious Nummies!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States