Paprika Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Wow - what a fantastic surprise this recipe was! I was skeptical at first, as I'm not a big sauerkraut fan. HOWEVER.. these chops were awesome! I should have listened to other reviewers who said they would make more topping... wish I had! The only thing I did different is that I brined the chops first, then grilled them instead of broiling. Cooked until almost done, then finished under the broiler. Rave reviews from all who enjoyed with me. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Made this for the first time last night and was a little leery because I only had a can of cheap sauerkraut, but it turned out wonderfully. My chops were really thick so I did cook them at little in the skillet before putting them on the broiler. They came out of the oven with a beautiful appearance and great flavor! I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
it took much longer to cook than what it says on the recipe but i think that's because my chops were still slightly frozen when i put em in. The topping didn't have a powerful flavor but i kind of liked it that way because you could still taste the pork, all in all a delicious recipe to use if i had leftover sauerkraut, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to make it again, got rave reviews from the family though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
1 teaspoon is a of garlic salt is little mush do to the bacon, so I used 1/4 teaspoon of salt and used 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and low salt bacon. 100% just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Outstanding! Reminds me of some of the wonderful dishes I had in Hungary. European sauerkraut is different - milder, less pickled - so next time I'll try to find some as one reviewer suggested. That'll give it an even more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was a nice change from the standard pork chop. It's a great starter recipe for those that aren't real sure about sauerkraut. The sour cream, onions, and paprika do a nice job of reducing the tartness in the sauerkraut, making it barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was so easy and very good! I had to make a few changes. I did 1 tsp. butter and 1 tsp. olive oil. Instead of seasoning the pork chops as indicated, I used Paul Prudhomme Pork and Veal Magic and kosher salt. Since I discovered I was out of sour cream, I used fat free Greek yogurt instead, which worked just fine. Finally, after topping the chops with the kraut, I srinkled them with 1/2 tsp. caraway seeds each before broiling. It was absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made one serving of this with a 1/2 pound bone-in pork chop (5/8 inch thick) from which I had the butcher trim off most of the fat. I seasoned the pork chop on both sides with black pepper, garlic, salt and smoked paprika. Then I broiled for 8 minutes, flipped, then broiled for 7 additional minutes. Then I added the wonderful sauce and broiled for 3 minutes longer. I made the sauce by cooking the onions in butter and a little sugar until lightly caramelized, then adding this to a bowl with 2 tablespoons sauerkraut, 2 tablespoons sour cream and about 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika. The sauce was about one inch thick covering the entire pork chop. Oh my, was this ever tasty. This is easy, quick and has a wonderful flavor. I do recommend using smoked paprika. Thank you DRLMCOBB for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Nice change for the other white meat. I used Penzeys brand "half sharp" paprika. The BF loved it and even ate the leftovers the next day. I will make this again and plan to make the seasoning for the chops into a dry rub and let them sit for a few hours. This recipe is a good way to use up sauerkraut left over from Rueben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinkate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Delicious, but only as leftovers when the flavors have had a chance to mingle and the sour cream flavor gets mellower. I didn't like it at first. I looked the chops entirely on the stove, adding the sauce after the first side was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States