Paprika Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
it took much longer to cook than what it says on the recipe but i think that's because my chops were still slightly frozen when i put em in. The topping didn't have a powerful flavor but i kind of liked it that way because you could still taste the pork, all in all a delicious recipe to use if i had leftover sauerkraut, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to make it again, got rave reviews from the family though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
1 teaspoon is a of garlic salt is little mush do to the bacon, so I used 1/4 teaspoon of salt and used 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and low salt bacon. 100% just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Outstanding! Reminds me of some of the wonderful dishes I had in Hungary. European sauerkraut is different - milder, less pickled - so next time I'll try to find some as one reviewer suggested. That'll give it an even more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was a nice change from the standard pork chop. It's a great starter recipe for those that aren't real sure about sauerkraut. The sour cream, onions, and paprika do a nice job of reducing the tartness in the sauerkraut, making it barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was so easy and very good! I had to make a few changes. I did 1 tsp. butter and 1 tsp. olive oil. Instead of seasoning the pork chops as indicated, I used Paul Prudhomme Pork and Veal Magic and kosher salt. Since I discovered I was out of sour cream, I used fat free Greek yogurt instead, which worked just fine. Finally, after topping the chops with the kraut, I srinkled them with 1/2 tsp. caraway seeds each before broiling. It was absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made one serving of this with a 1/2 pound bone-in pork chop (5/8 inch thick) from which I had the butcher trim off most of the fat. I seasoned the pork chop on both sides with black pepper, garlic, salt and smoked paprika. Then I broiled for 8 minutes, flipped, then broiled for 7 additional minutes. Then I added the wonderful sauce and broiled for 3 minutes longer. I made the sauce by cooking the onions in butter and a little sugar until lightly caramelized, then adding this to a bowl with 2 tablespoons sauerkraut, 2 tablespoons sour cream and about 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika. The sauce was about one inch thick covering the entire pork chop. Oh my, was this ever tasty. This is easy, quick and has a wonderful flavor. I do recommend using smoked paprika. Thank you DRLMCOBB for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Nice change for the other white meat. I used Penzeys brand "half sharp" paprika. The BF loved it and even ate the leftovers the next day. I will make this again and plan to make the seasoning for the chops into a dry rub and let them sit for a few hours. This recipe is a good way to use up sauerkraut left over from Rueben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinkate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Delicious, but only as leftovers when the flavors have had a chance to mingle and the sour cream flavor gets mellower. I didn't like it at first. I looked the chops entirely on the stove, adding the sauce after the first side was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was so easy and so tasty! My husband I though the topping tasted like sour cream and onion potato chips, which is a good think. I thought they were even better the next day. This may seem silly to say, but I would definitely recommend using boneless porkchops. I used bone-in chops, and it was hard to figure out where to cut them with the topping covering them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was amazing! I love how fast the chops cooked under the broiler, I don't think I'll do it any other way from now on - they were perfect! My only recommendation would be to sautee the onions for about 5 minutes until they start to get soft and then add the sauerkraut and cook that for about 15 minutes on medium heat, adding a little more butter until it's a light golden brown color. To me using sauerkraut right out of the jar is like eating it raw. Cooking it softens it and gives it a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States