Paprika Chicken with Sour Cream Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I altered this recipe a bit. So I'm going to give you my take on the altered version. First, I didn't see the need for the flour, so I skipped it. I think that is where a lot of the other reviews stating blandness have stemmed. Instead I put the seasonings directly on the chicken. For seasonings I used garlic powder, red pepper and paprika as the recipe stated but I omitted the black pepper while adding seasoning salt and onion powder. I sliced my chicken breasts (3 breasts) thin and rubbed the seasonings in to coat then browned the chicken in the skillet with the butter. Once cooked through, I set the chicken aside and poured about 1/4 cup white wine in the skillet and loosened all the goodness in the pan. Afterward I added a 1/2 teaspoon of fresh minced garlic, the soup and about a cup of mushrooms. Let them simmer for a few minutes, then I added the sour cream (Only two tablespoons of sour cream not a full container) and the chicken back to the pan and let simmer for about five or so more minutes, just until heated through. I served it with seasoned rice and mixed veggies. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Despite all the spices, the chicken wasn't very flavorful. I recommend using tablespoons of the spices instead of teaspoons. Next time I think I'll also add spices to the gravy. It's a very easy recipe, so it's worth playing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I wish I had batteries but since I'm out I couldn't take a picture this time. I'm glad I went for it anyway. I made minor changes. I used only half of the amount called for of the cayenne, I cooked the chicken and set it aside I added some sliced mushrooms to the butter, cooked it and then added the soup and about a 1/2 cup of milk. Placed the chicken back in the pan and kept an eye on it while it completed the last 10 minutes of cooking. It was great. I just thought that it needed salt and had to add some afterwords.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was absolutely delicious, I love the red pepper taste with the sour cream gravy mix. I will surely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very tasty! Served over buttered noodles. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
We loved it! I did not use the green onions...I fried up some white onion slices with potato slices in a separate pan instead, which was my side next to the paprika chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wavedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! The sauce is soooo tasty. Excellent served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WOW! I have a duplex with my sister and we cook for each other's families 2 days a week. It's very hard to find a recipe that all 9 people like. (4 adults and 5 kids) This was a hit with every one! I'll definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This dish was really easy and quick. The flavor was great! I kept to the recipe except I added a little more of the spices, my family really likes bold flavors. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States