Paper-Wrapped Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Instead of using parchment paper, I put the pie in a brown grocery bag. I sprinkled a bit of water on the top of the bag and baked as directed. Much less fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this pie the other day, as I had some apples that needed to be used up. I didn't have parchment paper but I did have a paper bag, so I used it. I spritzed the bag with water at the beginning and mid way through the baking. This pie turned out great being nicely browned on the top and it tasted great as well. Thanks Cathy for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This pie is wonderful. I had trouble getting the parchment paper to stay folder so put pie dish into another dish and it worked fine. Husband really liked this also. Just as good cold/room temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just chillin
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I didn't have a paper bag so I used a turkey oven roasting bag worked great delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great apple pie if you don't especially care for a lot of pastry crust; this one has a tasty crumble topping instead. After fumbling with the parchment paper method unsuccessfully (I didn't think of stapling it until after the fact, but just folding it up didn't work), I placed the pie in a brown paper grocery sack, folded the open end down under the sack and it worked great. Just be careful that the fold doesn't cause your pie to be tilted. I researched the paper bag method a bit online and found others who even sell pies made this way. They mentioned that the bag keeps the apples moist and gives them a chance to fully cook without overcooking the crust. Next time I may take it out of the bag to brown a bit more at the end of the baking time, but it still had nice color after 1 hour as called for. I used 6 medium Granny Smith Apples, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon since I think something is missing without cinnamon in an apple pie! I will make this again since the topping is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used this for my very first try at pie making. My husband being gluten free,I substituted a GF ready made pie shell and some GF all purpose flour.Because I have diabetes I substituted agave syrup for the white sugar. The recipe did not suffer at all in fact the pie came out so delicious that today just two days after my first try, I am making it again just adding a quart of black raspberries I had to use can't wait to taste it Sunday I am trustingly bringing it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I never ever made a pie before trying this recipe. Now I'm the designated pie girl always having to bake my butt off because they LOVE this pie. I can't thank you enough for posting this. It's the easiest recipe and friend and family devour it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
You can't go wrong with recipe. It turned out great and the parchment papers saves on oven mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first apple pie and it came out exactly the way it should have. Everyone in the family enjoyed it. I even added 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon for my special tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Absolutly amazing! This recipie is great even with a store bought crust! terrific balance beteween sweet and savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States