Papa's Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made this more than a few times. The only changes I made was to only boil the chicken for 20 mins max. I also use the mixture as a marinade I take it out of the fridge and take the chicken out and bring the brine to a boil and then cook the chicken. When grilling I add some garlic powder. If calories are not an issue I add a pat of butter under the skin after I flip them on the grill. YUMMY !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmr777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Didnt really have much flavor and my chicken turned out kind of dry. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The best grilled chicken I've eaten. Good with thighs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I think this would have been very good, but they burned on the grill, and were very dried out (too long on the grill?). Probably not worth the extra time needed to poach in the briny mixture; it boiled over while simmering and made a huge sticky mess all over my kitchen stove and cabinets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm giving this a three, because my mother and my husband raved and my kids liked it, but I thought the vinegar flavor was just too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Ya it's ok but I like my chicken more grilled or breaded or fried. This is healthier but you can still cook somewhat healthy chicken if breaded or lightly fried with the right seasonings and drainded of most grease. Just not all the time. This chicken to me was ok but kind of boreing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was SO wonderful! Unfortunately I cooked too long in vinegar mix so chicken wasn't as juicy as others report. We thought salty-tangy flavor was just right, but if you aren't used to salt in your cooking, I recommend maybe 1/8 cup salt instead of 1/4. WILL make again, cooking for no longer than 25 minutes in the vinegar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is amazing. Stinks to high heaven while you're boiling it, but so worth it. My husband claims this is the best chicken he's had in his life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This recipe is fast,easy & delicious. Like other reviewers I have done this with chicken saddle legs, and wings. I also add some garlic & onion powder and white pepperto the brine mixture. I put the wings in later in the boiling process so they don't fall apart. Everyone at my house loves it. Don't be intimidated by all the vinegar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homegoddess1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Justice, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Nicely Done!!! This recipe is amazing!!! I followed the directions all the way. I used kosher salt which makes a little difference. Everyone enjoyed, and said that this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!~*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States